8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown. Jimmy Carr. Copyright: Zeppotron
8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown

8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown

  • TV panel show
  • Channel 4
  • 2012 - 2024
  • 157 episodes (24 series)

The 8 Out Of 10 Cats regulars play the famous words and numbers quiz with the help of guests. Stars Jimmy Carr, Robert Deaton, Sean Lock, Jon Richardson, Rachel Riley and more.

Episode menu

Christmas Special 2023 - Christmas Special

8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown. Image shows left to right: Joe Lycett, Danny Dyer
Jimmy Carr hosts a special Christmas edition of 8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown, packed with festive surprises. Joe Lycett and Danny Dyer take on Jon Richardson and Roisin Conaty. Rachel Riley looks after the letters and numbers, and Mr Swallow (Nick Mohammed) joins Susie Dent in Dictionary Corner. And as a Christmas treat, Cats Does Countdown royalty Joe Wilkinson is back to help/annoy Rachel.


Jon and Roisin won, 63 points to 22.

Broadcast details

Thursday 21st December 2023
Channel 4
60 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Friday 22nd December 2023 3:35am 4seven
Saturday 23rd December 2023 3:25am 4seven
Saturday 23rd December 2023 10:00pm 4seven
Sunday 24th December 2023 11:30pm C4
Tuesday 26th December 2023 3:35am 4seven
Tuesday 26th December 2023 11:15pm 4seven

Cast & crew

Jimmy Carr Host / Presenter
Robert Deaton Fabio
Jon Richardson Self
Rachel Riley Self
Susie Dent Self
Joe Wilkinson Self
John Pohlhammer Announcer
Guest cast
Joe Lycett Team Captain
Roisin Conaty Guest
Danny Dyer Guest
Nick Mohammed Mr Swallow
Writing team
Jimmy Carr Writer (Additional Material)
Dominic English Writer (Additional Material)
Lee Stuart Evans Writer (Additional Material)
Shaun Pye Writer (Additional Material)
Christine Rose Writer (Additional Material)
Martin Trenaman Writer (Additional Material)
James Farmer Writer (Additional Material)
Matthew Crosby Writer (Additional Material)
James Kettle Writer (Additional Material)
Phil Lucas Writer (Additional Material)
Zoƫ Tomalin Writer (Additional Material)
Production team
Richard Valentine Director
Damian Eadie Series Producer
Jodie Krstic Series Producer
Leo Gallagher Producer
Tom Taylor Producer
Peter Gwyn Executive Producer
Ruth Phillips Executive Producer
Richard Cohen Executive Producer
Lauren Wilkinson Line Producer
Michael Stranney Producer
George Winfield Editor
Phil Moss Editor
Rudi Thackray Production Designer
Roger Williams Lighting Designer
Alan Hawkshaw Composer
Mat Osman Composer

Share this page