8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown. Jimmy Carr. Copyright: Zeppotron
8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown

8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown

  • TV panel show
  • Channel 4
  • 2012 - 2024
  • 157 episodes (24 series)

The 8 Out Of 10 Cats regulars play the famous words and numbers quiz with the help of guests. Stars Jimmy Carr, Robert Deaton, Sean Lock, Jon Richardson, Rachel Riley and more.

Episode menu

Series 17 (Channel 4: Series 18), Episode 1

8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown. Image shows from L to R: Susie Dent, Vic Reeves
Sean Lock and Miles Jupp take on Jon Richardson and Rose Matafeo, while Vic Reeves joins Susie Dent in Dictionary Corner. Hosted by Jimmy Carr, with regular Countdown mathematician Rachel Riley looking after the numbers and letters.

Preview clips


Jon and Rose won, 55 points to 38.

Broadcast details

Friday 26th July 2019
Channel 4
60 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Sunday 28th July 2019 12:10am 4seven
Sunday 28th July 2019 9:00pm 4seven
Monday 29th July 2019 10:00pm C4
Tuesday 30th July 2019 11:05pm 4seven
Wednesday 31st July 2019 10:05pm 4seven
Sunday 4th August 2019 10:00pm 4seven
Monday 21st October 2019 11:00pm C4
Wednesday 23rd October 2019 12:25am 4seven
Wednesday 23rd October 2019 10:15pm
60 minute version
Saturday 26th October 2019 1:15am 4seven
Saturday 26th October 2019 11:05pm 4seven
Monday 28th October 2019 12:25am 4seven
Monday 23rd March 2020 10:00pm More4
Thursday 2nd July 2020 10:15pm More4
Friday 3rd July 2020 2:25am More4
Sunday 24th January 2021 12:30am More4
Friday 30th April 2021 12:15am More4
Tuesday 13th July 2021 11:00pm More4
Wednesday 14th July 2021 2:05am More4
Saturday 16th October 2021 11:05pm More4
Monday 21st February 2022 12:30am More4
Saturday 12th November 2022 1:20am More4
Saturday 28th January 2023 12:45am More4

Cast & crew

Jimmy Carr Host / Presenter
Robert Deaton Fabio
Sean Lock Self
Jon Richardson Self
Rachel Riley Self
Susie Dent Self
John Pohlhammer Announcer
Guest cast
Miles Jupp Guest
Rose Matafeo Guest
David Reed Ian the Beef Waiter
Vic Reeves Self
Writing team
Jimmy Carr Writer (Additional Material)
Dominic English Writer (Additional Material)
Lee Stuart Evans Writer (Additional Material)
Fraser Steele Writer (Additional Material)
Shaun Pye Writer (Additional Material)
Christine Rose Writer (Additional Material)
Phil Kerr Writer (Additional Material)
Andrew Bird Writer (Additional Material)
Will Ing Writer (Additional Material)
James Farmer Writer (Additional Material)
Production team
Barbara Wiltshire Director
Damian Eadie Series Producer
Jodie Krstic Series Producer
Alex Gilman Producer
Emily Pickthall Producer
Peter Gwyn Executive Producer
Richard Osman Executive Producer
Ruth Phillips Executive Producer
Richard Cohen Executive Producer
Nel Chandra Producer
Roberta Grady Edit Producer
Frazer Yorke Edit Producer
Tim Ellison Editor
Mark Redfern Editor
Rich Wilson Editor
Rudi Thackray Production Designer
Alan Hawkshaw Composer
Mat Osman Composer
Julia Smith Lighting Designer


Sean Lock & Miles Jupp's mascots

Sean Lock and Miles Jupp bring on their totally absurd vouchers and beef waiter mascots.

Featuring: Jimmy Carr, Sean Lock, Jon Richardson, David Reed (Ian the Beef Waiter), Miles Jupp & Rose Matafeo.

Share this page