When The Dog Dies. Sandy Hopper (Ronnie Corbett). Copyright: CPL Productions.

When The Dog Dies

BBC Radio 4 and BBC Radio 4 Extra sitcom. 24 episodes (4 series), 2010 - 2014. Stars Ronnie Corbett, Liza Tarbuck, Sally Grace, Tilly Vosburgh, Jonathan Aris, Daniel Bridle, Philip Bird and others.

Series 1, Episode 1 - The Same Hymn Sheet

Sandy wants to protect his grandson, Tyson, from the harsh training programme and insane sporting ambitions of his father, Blake.

Further details

Sandy wants to protect his grandson Tyson from the harsh training programme and insane sporting ambitions of Tyson's father Blake, and sets out to torpedo Blake's touchline plans. The story takes Sandy all the way to the bank. Unfortunately, it's the bottle bank.

Broadcast details

Friday 30th April 2010
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Ronnie Corbett Sandy Hopper
Liza Tarbuck Dolores
Sally Grace Mrs Pompom
Tilly Vosburgh Ellie
Jonathan Aris Blake
Daniel Bridle Tyson
Guest cast
Jon Glover Mr Stott
Writing team
Ian Davidson Writer
Peter Vincent Writer
Production team
Liz Anstee Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 7 further repeats of this episode

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?