When The Dog Dies. Sandy Hopper (Ronnie Corbett). Copyright: CPL Productions.

When The Dog Dies

BBC Radio 4 and BBC Radio 4 Extra sitcom. 24 episodes (4 series), 2010 - 2014. Stars Ronnie Corbett, Liza Tarbuck, Sally Grace, Tilly Vosburgh, Jonathan Aris, Daniel Bridle, Philip Bird and others.

Series 1

1. The Same Hymn Sheet

First broadcast: Friday 30th April 2010

Sandy wants to protect his grandson, Tyson, from the harsh training programme and insane sporting ambitions of his father, Blake.

In-depth Guide

2. Spying Is Believing

First broadcast: Friday 7th May 2010

Sandy, aided by Dolores, finds himself snooping on his daughter-in-law Victoria, hiding in a car boot and climbing a very tall tree. It's an adventure straight out of the Dangerous Grandad's Book For Boys.


3. The Rival Grandad

First broadcast: Friday 14th May 2010

Can Sandy get even with Tyson's other grandad, Rex, when he takes Tyson and his sister to an adventure park?

In-depth Guide

4. Portrait Of The Artist As An Old Man

First broadcast: Friday 21st May 2010

Sandy's daughter Ellie is an artist but he's never liked her work. The trouble is that she never sells anything - until Sandy buys a canvas anonymously.

In-depth Guide

5. Squeaky Shoes

First broadcast: Friday 28th May 2010

At a funeral Sandy finds himself singled out by the widow, Eileen. His children are horrified and so is his lodger Dolores.

In-depth Guide

6. Desperately Seeking Dolores

First broadcast: Friday 4th June 2010

Sandy and Dolores are always bickering but this time it's serious: she's walked out on him and his dog Henry.

In-depth Guide

Buy Series 1