When The Dog Dies. Sandy Hopper (Ronnie Corbett). Copyright: CPL Productions.

When The Dog Dies

BBC Radio 4 and BBC Radio 4 Extra sitcom. 24 episodes (4 series), 2010 - 2014. Stars Ronnie Corbett, Liza Tarbuck, Sally Grace, Tilly Vosburgh, Jonathan Aris, Daniel Bridle, Philip Bird and others.

Series 1, Episode 2 - Spying Is Believing

Sandy, aided by Dolores, finds himself snooping on his daughter-in-law Victoria, hiding in a car boot and climbing a very tall tree. It's an adventure straight out of the Dangerous Grandad's Book For Boys.

Broadcast details

Friday 7th May 2010
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Ronnie Corbett Sandy Hopper
Liza Tarbuck Dolores
Daniel Bridle Tyson
Philip Bird Lance
Guest cast
Amelia Clarkson Calais (Grandaughter)
Joanna Brookes Victoria
Writing team
Ian Davidson Writer
Peter Vincent Writer
Production team
Liz Anstee Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 5 further repeats of this episode

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?