The cast of the radio series. Copyright: BBC / Above The Title Productions
The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

  • Radio sitcom
  • BBC Radio 4
  • 1978 - 2018
  • 32 episodes (6 series)

A science fiction radio comedy series written by Douglas Adams that started off the H2G2 multi-media franchise phenomenon. Stars Simon Jones, Geoffrey McGivern, Peter Jones, William Franklyn, John Lloyd and more.

Episode menu

The Quandary Phase, Episode 3 - Fit The Twenty-First

In which Arthur Dent and Fenchurch go flying together, Ford Prefect meets a weird creature in the East River, and Arthur learns what happened to all the dolphins.

Further details

Arthur and Fenchurch share their own experiences of the Vogon fleets. While Arthur experienced the Earth being demolished, Fenchurch had a revelation which resulted in her feet not being able to touch the ground. Arthur and Fenchurch then decide to go flying together.

Arthur begins to wonder about the fate of the dolphins. So, he and Fenchurch go to America and visit one of the greatest dolphin experts in the world, Wonko the Sane. Wonko, who believes that the entire world has gone mad, has built his house inside out and claims to have conversations with green-winged angels. Wonko also has a glass fishbowl exactly like Arthur's. Fenchurch claims to have one too. When the bowl is tapped, it plays a farewell message from the dolphins.

Ford Prefect has managed to land in America, where he engages with conversation with a bizarre creature in the East River.

Elsewhere, Prostetnic Vogon Jeltz is brought before a public inquiry. It is revealed that plural zones such as ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha (Earth's zone) are very unstable in terms of dimensions, meaning that as soon as one Earth is demolished, another appears. Even though the plan to build the bypass has been cancelled, the Vogons decide to carry out the orders and demolish every single Earth.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 17th May 2005
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Monday 25th June 2018 10:30pm Radio 4 Extra
Saturday 20th June 2020 6:00pm Radio 4 Extra
Sunday 21st June 2020 12:00am Radio 4 Extra

Cast & crew

Simon Jones Arthur Dent
Geoffrey McGivern Ford Prefect
William Franklyn The Book
Jane Horrocks Fenchurch
Toby Longworth Prostetnic Vogon Jeltz
Guest cast
Simon Greenall Steward
Stephen Fry Murray Bost Henson
Jackie Mason East River Creature
Dominic Hawksley Vogon Councillor
Margaret Robertson Mrs Kapelsen
Michael Cule Vogon Clerk
Christian Slater Wonko the Sane
Writing team
Douglas Adams Writer
Production team
Dirk Maggs Producer

Share this page

Promoted video