The cast of the radio series. Copyright: BBC / Above The Title Productions.

The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

BBC Radio 4 sitcom about space travel. 32 episodes (6 series), 1978 - 2018. Stars Simon Jones, Geoffrey McGivern, Peter Jones, William Franklyn and others.

The Quintessential Phase, Episode 3 is repeated on Radio 4 Extra on Saturday at 6pm.

The Quandary Phase

1. Fit The Nineteenth

First broadcast: Tuesday 3rd May 2005

In which Arthur Dent discovers that his home planet has somehow popped back into existence, and he meets the woman of his dreams.

In-depth Guide

2. Fit The Twentieth

First broadcast: Tuesday 10th May 2005

In which Arthur Dent finds an odd fishbowl, his new love's name, and has some explaining to do over his copy of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. Meanwhile, Ford Prefect plans to build up a massive telephone bill.

In-depth Guide

3. Fit The Twenty-First

First broadcast: Tuesday 17th May 2005

In which Arthur Dent and Fenchurch go flying together, Ford Prefect meets a weird creature in the East River, and Arthur learns what happened to all the dolphins.

In-depth Guide

4. Fit The Twenty-Second

First broadcast: Tuesday 24th May 2005

In which a spaceship lands in Knightsbridge, Arthur Dent and Fenchurch discover God's Last Message to his Creation, and Marvin the Paranoid Android makes his farewell appearance.

In-depth Guide

The Quandary Phase Products