National Television Awards 2011 shortlist announced

Monday 3rd January 2011, 12:00pm by Ian Wolf

Michael McIntyre's Comedy Roadshow. Image shows from L to R: Jack Whitehall, Sean Collins, Michael McIntyre, Andi Osho, Ardal O'Hanlon. Copyright: Open Mike Productions.Benidorm, Harry Hill's TV Burp, Michael McIntyre's Comedy Roadshow (pictured) and Outnumbered have been nominated for the comedy award in the National Television Awards 2011.

The four shows made the shortlist in the category after a public voted on the long-list in December. Another vote is now being held to decide the overall winner.

Comedy shows nominated in other categories include Mock the Week and QI for the entertainment award (alongside Big Brother and I'm A Celebrity), Shameless for the drama award (alongside Doctor Who, Sherlock and Waterloo Road) and The Inbetweeners for the Digital Choice award (alongside Glee and Peter Andre: The Next Chapter).

The awards will be presented live on ITV1 by Dermot O'Leary on Wednesday 26th January. Voting ends midday that day. You can vote by visiting the NTA website

January is a busy time for comedy-related awards. Yesterday, voting for The Awards 2010 opened, the Chortle awards for stand-up launch at the end of the week, and the British Comedy Awards will be on Channel 4 on Saturday 22nd January.

Latest news