Edinburgh Comedy Awards shortlist 2017

Wednesday 23rd August 2017, 2:59pm

Edinburgh Comedy Awards

The nominations for the 2017 Edinburgh Comedy Awards have been announced. Those up for the Best Show and Best Newcomer awards are listed below. Click on the title of a show to find relevant information, articles, interviews, and all reviews to date.

Best Show

Edinburgh Comedy Awards nominees 2017. Image shows from L to R: Jordan Brookes, Spencer Jones, Elf Lyons, Ahir Shah, John Robins, Mat Ewins, Sophie Willan, Hannah Gadsby, Mae Martin
Ahir Shah: Control. Ahir Shah

Ahir Shah: Control

Elf Lyons: Swan. Elf Lyons

Elf Lyons: Swan

Hannah Gadsby - Nanette. Hannah Gadsby

Hannah Gadsby - Nanette

John Robins: The Darkness of Robins. John Robins

John Robins: The Darkness of Robins

Jordan Brookes: Body of Work. Jordan Brookes

Jordan Brookes: Body of Work

Mae Martin: Dope. Mae Martin

Mae Martin: Dope

Mat Ewins Presents Adventureman 7: The Return of Adventureman. Mat Ewins

Mat Ewins Presents Adventureman 7: The Return of Adventureman

Sophie Willan: Branded. Sophie Willan

Sophie Willan: Branded

Spencer Jones: The Audition. Spencer Jones

Spencer Jones: The Audition

Best Newcomer

Edinburgh Comedy Awards best newcomer nominees 2017. Image shows from L to R: Lucy Pearman, Chris Washington, Lauren Pattison, Darren Harriott, Kwame Asante, Ed Night, Natalie Palamides
Chris Washington: Dream Big (Within Reason). Chris Washington

Chris Washington: Dream Big (Within Reason)

Darren Harriott: Defiant. Darren Harriott

Darren Harriott: Defiant

Ed Night: Anthem for Doomed Youth. Ed Night

Ed Night: Anthem for Doomed Youth

Kwame Asante: Open Arms. Kwame Asante

Kwame Asante: Open Arms

Lauren Pattison: Lady Muck. Lauren Pattison

Lauren Pattison: Lady Muck

Lucy Pearman: Maid of Cabbage

Lucy Pearman: Maid of Cabbage

Natalie Palamides: LAID. Natalie Palamides

Natalie Palamides: LAID

Rob Kemp: The Elvis Dead. Rob Kemp. Copyright: Peril Design / Copyright Splash Photography

Rob Kemp: The Elvis Dead

Nica Burns, Director of the Awards, says: "70 years of the Fringe, 700 eligible shows: a record breaking year for comedy. An excellent long, long-list resulted in a particularly passionate and lively debate by the ten-strong judging panel. It is unprecedented to see an almost gender-equal list with four women on the shortlist of nine, one more nomination than in 2015 and 2016, and some exciting new names for the public to discover."

The winners of the 2017 lastminute.com Edinburgh Comedy Awards will be announced by Mark Gatiss, Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton of The League of Gentlemen alongside 2016 Best Show winner Richard Gadd at a lunchtime ceremony in the city on Saturday 26th August. The prize money for best comedy show is £10,000 with £5,000 each for the Best Newcomer and Panel Prize winners.


Share this page