Hannah Gadsby & John Robins win Edinburgh Comedy Awards

Saturday 26th August 2017, 12:20pm

  • For the first time ever, there are two Best Show winners in the Edinburgh Comedy Awards
  • Hannah Gadsby and John Robins were each winners of the Best Show title
  • Meanwhile, Natalie Palamides was awarded Best Newcomer
Edinburgh Comedy Awards 2017. Image shows from L to R: Reece Shearsmith, Steve Pemberton, Hannah Gadsby, John Robins, Richard Gadd, Mark Gatiss.

The winners of the 37th lastminute.com Edinburgh Comedy Awards have been announced.

In a central Edinburgh ceremony fronted by Mark Gatiss, Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton of The League of Gentlemen, alongside 2016 Best Show winner Richard Gadd, the 2017 winners were revealed shortly after noon, and in an unprecedented move, two Best Show awards were announced.

The accolades, and £10,000 prize money for each, were given to both Hannah Gadsby and John Robins, whilst Natalie Palamides took the title for Best Newcomer and £5,000.

In awarding two separate Best Show titles, the judges - drawn from across the comedy industry - awarded no Panel Prize this year, which would normally have also come with a £5,000 prize fund.

As has been widely commented on, Robins's show is based around his split from fellow comedian Sara Pascoe. Wearing a 'lucky beagle' token that she had given him, on accepting the award Robins described her as "an artistic and creative force such as I have never experienced before", in thanks for her continued support and congratulations at his initial nomination.

Meanwhile in an emotional speech Hannah Gadsby, who has said Nanette - her show about topics including homophobia - will be her last comedy hour, said the win was 'bitter sweet'.

Best Show

Edinburgh Comedy Awards nominees 2017. Image shows from L to R: Jordan Brookes, Spencer Jones, Elf Lyons, Ahir Shah, John Robins, Mat Ewins, Sophie Willan, Hannah Gadsby, Mae Martin.

The nominees were:

Ahir Shah: Control. Ahir Shah.Ahir Shah: Control

Elf Lyons: Swan. Elf Lyons.Elf Lyons: Swan

Hannah Gadsby - Nanette. Hannah Gadsby.Hannah Gadsby - Nanette

John Robins: The Darkness of Robins. John Robins.John Robins: The Darkness of Robins

Jordan Brookes: Body of Work. Jordan Brookes.Jordan Brookes: Body of Work

Mae Martin: Dope. Mae Martin.Mae Martin: Dope

Mat Ewins Presents Adventureman 7: The Return of Adventureman. Mat Ewins.Mat Ewins Presents Adventureman 7: The Return of Adventureman

Sophie Willan: Branded. Sophie Willan.Sophie Willan: Branded

Spencer Jones: The Audition. Spencer Jones.Spencer Jones: The Audition

Best Newcomer

Edinburgh Comedy Awards best newcomer nominees 2017. Image shows from L to R: Lucy Pearman, Chris Washington, Lauren Pattison, Darren Harriott, Kwame Asante, Ed Night, Natalie Palamides.

The nominees were:

Chris Washington: Dream Big (Within Reason). Chris Washington.Chris Washington: Dream Big (Within Reason)

Darren Harriott: Defiant. Darren Harriott.Darren Harriott: Defiant

Ed Night: Anthem for Doomed Youth. Ed Night.Ed Night: Anthem for Doomed Youth

Kwame Asante: Open Arms. Kwame Asante.Kwame Asante: Open Arms

Lauren Pattison: Lady Muck. Lauren Pattison.Lauren Pattison: Lady Muck

Lucy Pearman: Maid of Cabbage.Lucy Pearman: Maid of Cabbage

Natalie Palamides: LAID. Natalie Palamides.Natalie Palamides: LAID

Rob Kemp: The Elvis Dead. Rob Kemp. Copyright: Peril Design / Copyright Splash Photography.Rob Kemp: The Elvis Dead

Speaking at the time of the nominations, Nica Burns, Director of the Awards, said: "70 years of the Fringe, 700 eligible shows: a record breaking year for comedy. An excellent long, long-list resulted in a particularly passionate and lively debate by the ten-strong judging panel. It is unprecedented to see an almost gender-equal list with four women on the shortlist of nine, one more nomination than in 2015 and 2016, and some exciting new names for the public to discover."

For updates, click the buttons below.


Latest news