Not Going Out - Series 1 Page 7

Quote: Andrew Collins @ November 14, 2006, 6:52 AM

Let's draw a line under this and say: NGO is proof that TV isn't a closed shop. BBC1 were prepared to take a risk on Lee by giving him his own Friday night sitcom. Think how much safer it would be for them to commmision, say, a spin-off of Only Fools And Horses? Or order up another episode of The Royle Family?

Personally, I've never watched either Only Fools and Horses or The Royle Family, I've seen trailers and watched bits on the recommendation of friends but could not see the appeal. I, for one, then, am grateful that the BBC didn't take the easy way out, or I'd have had to find something else to do at 9.30 on a Friday night. As a viewer, I enjoy NGO enormously and look forward to future series, so on that level, applaud the BBC and the NGO team. As a writer, I appreciate the insight that Andrew has shared with us because it illustrates the time, effort, energy, and dissapointment (Grass) that we will all be going through if we are to achieve our ambitions. I think Andrew has been more than generous with his time and we are the ones who may benefit ultimately. I haven't seen any other sitcom writer sharing their experience so willingly with the wannabies and he deserves a lot of respect for that.

I agree with Steve that Andrew has shown himself to be immensely likeable and patient. He has clearly worked hard not only to get an opportunity but also worked at being ready for the opportunity when it arrived. Despite his protestations, he has ability AND talent. I want to thank him for his time when others would have simply waved a commissioned script at us and told us to go whistle. I think I always made clear my respect for him.

My comments were not intended as criticism of him, the show, or the staff, but a gripe at a perceived modus operandi within the upper echelons.

I'll continue, as always, writing my best.

Hear, hear! :)

Quote: Nick @ October 8, 2006, 2:17 PM