The Last Salute. Harry Thorpe (Paul Bown). Copyright: BBC
The Last Salute

The Last Salute

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1998 - 1999
  • 12 episodes (2 series)

Period sitcom about an AA patrolman in 1960s Hampshire. Stars Paul Bown, Jo Unwin, Philip Jackson, David Shane, Paul Young and more.

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 2

Leonard is now living in a small flat above the AA headquarters after Joyce burned his caravan to the ground. It's a Bank Holiday and all the patrols are desperately busy so when Harry injures his foot, Leonard has no alternative but to take his place on the road.

Broadcast details

Sunday 1st August 1999
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Paul Bown Harry Thorpe
Jo Unwin Joyce Thorpe
Philip Jackson Leonard Spanwick
Paul Young Bannerman
Claire Cox Catherine Heaseman
Robin Hudson Neville
Guest cast
Paul Brooke Mr. Pimm
Christopher Villiers Motorist
Steve Edwin Customer
Bobbie Robertson Pamela
Writing team
Simon Nye Writer
Production team
Keith Washington Director
Mike Stephens Producer
Gail Evans Associate Producer
Frank Webb Editor
John Bristow Production Designer
Tracey Gillham Casting Director
Lynnette Cummin Costume Designer
Peter Chapman Director of Photography
Kerin Parfitt Make-up Designer
Ray Russell Composer
Fiona Black 1st Assistant Director

Share this page