The Last Salute. Harry Thorpe (Paul Bown). Copyright: BBC
The Last Salute

The Last Salute

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1998 - 1999
  • 12 episodes (2 series)

Period sitcom about an AA patrolman in 1960s Hampshire. Stars Paul Bown, Jo Unwin, Philip Jackson, David Shane, Paul Young and more.

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 1 - Happy Motoring

AA Patrolman Harry Thorpe is told he has to recruit more new members.

Broadcast details

Sunday 15th March 1998
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Paul Bown Harry Thorpe
Jo Unwin Joyce Thorpe
Philip Jackson Leonard Spanwick
David Shane Roy
Paul Young Bannerman
Benjamin Pullen (as Ben Pullen) Robin
Claire Cox Catherine Heaseman
Brett Fancy Johnny Lupus
Guest cast
John Rapley Undertaker
John Kirk Salesman
Bill Bingham Dignitary
Writing team
Tim Binding Writer
Simon Nye Writer
Production team
Graeme Harper Director
Mike Stephens Executive Producer
Garrie Mallen Associate Producer
Roy Demery Editor
David Hitchcock Production Designer
Tracey Gillham Casting Director
Peter Chapman Director of Photography
Christine Rawlins Costume Designer
Caroline Noble Make-up Designer
Ray Russell Composer
Fiona Black 1st Assistant Director

Share this page