Mark Gatiss amongst Inside No. 9 Series 7 guest stars

Friday 17th September 2021, 12:01am

Inside No. 9. Image shows from L to R: Steve Pemberton, Reece Shearsmith.

The BBC has confirmed that principal photography is now underway on the seventh series of Steve Pemberton and Reece Shearsmith's multi award-winning comedy anthology series Inside No. 9.

A first look photo of the stars playing characters that appear to be teachers has been released, alongside details of some of the guest stars involved in Series 7.

Notably it's been revealed Mark Gatiss, Shearsmith and Pemberton's fellow League Of Gentlemen co-creator, will be amongst the actors appearing in the new run of episodes.

The cast list also features Daniel Mays (Code 404), Jason Isaacs (Harry Potter), Sophie Okonedo (Wild Rose), Jessica Hynes (There She Goes, Diane Morgan (Mandy), Daisy Haggard (Back To Life), Annette Badland (Doctor Who), Siobhan Redmond (The High Life) and Ron Cook (Hot Fuzz).

The new episodes will air in 2022. The BBC confirms: "Broadcast on BBC Two and BBC iPlayer, the new series of Inside No. 9 will feature six stand-alone stories, once again inviting viewers into Shearsmith and Pemberton's world of the extraordinary and macabre."

Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton say: "We hope you'll join us and another incredible cast of actors for more surprises that will make your jaws drop and spines tingle. Heads might even roll, and if not heads, definitely eyes."

Commissioning editor Gregor Sharp comments: "Inside No. 9 is a crown jewel of comedy and we can't wait to see what twisted gems Reece and Steve have in store for us in the new series."

Josh Cole, head of comedy at BBC Studios, adds: "It's a joy to be back in the Inside No. 9 saddle. Reece and Steve are comic masters, and their new scripts are better than ever. Which really is saying something when the last bunch won Best Comedy at the BAFTAs!"

All previous episodes of Inside No. 9 are available to watch now on BBC iPlayer.

New book The Insider's Guide To Inside No. 9, a "behind-the-scenes tour" of the first five series, is due to be published on 28th October.

For updates, click the buttons below.



Related Guides

Latest news