Hi-De-Hi!. Image shows from L to R: Gladys Pugh (Ruth Madoc), Jeffrey Fairbrother (Simon Cadell), Ted Bovis (Paul Shane), Spike Dixon (Jeffrey Holland). Copyright: BBC


  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1980 - 1988
  • 58 episodes (8 series)

Fun and frolics at a branch of Maplin's Holiday Camp where the guests are the last thing on the mind of the staff. Stars Simon Cadell, David Griffin, Penny Irving, Richard Cottan, Terence Creasey and more.

Episode menu

Series 8, Episode 4 - Wedding Bells

Gladys eventually agrees to tie the knot and marry Sqn Ldr
The Hon Clive Dempster, DFC. But down at Dempster Hall the family have other ideas.

Broadcast details

Saturday 23rd January 1988
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Thursday 9th April 2015 4:45pm BBC2
Monday 14th November 2016 1:30pm BBC2
Monday 23rd July 2018 1:05pm Gold
Monday 23rd July 2018 6:00pm Gold
Wednesday 19th June 2019 12:45pm Gold
Wednesday 19th June 2019 5:15pm Gold
Saturday 7th September 2019 9:00am Gold
Sunday 8th September 2019 8:10am Gold
Thursday 28th November 2019 12:35pm Gold
Thursday 28th November 2019 5:20pm Gold
Tuesday 21st April 2020 6:00pm Drama
Wednesday 11th November 2020 9:20am Gold
Wednesday 11th November 2020 3:20pm Gold
Wednesday 11th November 2020 6:00pm Gold
Tuesday 8th June 2021 9:20am Gold
Tuesday 8th June 2021 2:00pm Gold
Tuesday 8th June 2021 6:00pm Gold
Thursday 19th August 2021 6:00pm Drama
Wednesday 6th October 2021 8:35am Gold
Wednesday 6th October 2021 1:20pm Gold
Wednesday 6th October 2021 6:40pm Gold

Cast & crew

David Griffin Sqdn-Ldr Clive Dempster DFC
Paul Shane Ted Bovis
Ruth Madoc Gladys Pugh
Jeffrey Holland Spike Dixon
Su Pollard Peggy Ollerenshaw
Kenneth Connor Sammy
Felix Bowness Fred Quilly
Diane Holland Yvonne Stuart-Hargreaves
Nikki Kelly Sylvia Garnsey
Linda Regan April Wingate
Laura Jackson Dawn Freshwater
Ben Aris Julian Dalrymple-Sykes
Tony Webb (as The Webb Twins) Bruce Matthews
David Webb (as The Webb Twins) Stanley Matthews
Chris Andrews Gary Bolton
Guest cast
Dennis Ramsden Uncle Charles
Mavis Pugh Winifred Dempster
Peter Fontaine General Sir Claud Dempster
Iain Anders Vice-Admiral Neville Dempster
Fred Bryant Bishop Simon Dempster
Michael Robbins Roger
Barbara New Doreen
Brenda Cowling Nora
Frank Williams Vicar
Anthony Benson Village Local
Colin Bean Verger
Nick Mercer Groom
Writing team
Jimmy Perry Writer
David Croft Writer
Production team
Mike Stephens Director
Mike Stephens Producer
David Croft Executive Producer
Mike Robotham Editor
Ed Wooden Editor
Andrée Welstead Hornby Production Designer

Share this page