Hi-De-Hi!. Image shows from L to R: Gladys Pugh (Ruth Madoc), Jeffrey Fairbrother (Simon Cadell), Ted Bovis (Paul Shane), Spike Dixon (Jeffrey Holland). Copyright: BBC.


BBC One sitcom about the staff at a holiday camp. 58 episodes (pilot + 8 series), 1980 - 1988. Stars Simon Cadell, David Griffin, Penny Irving, Richard Cottan and others.

Series 3, Christmas Special is repeated on Gold tomorrow at 1pm.

Series 1

1. Desire In The Mickey Mouse Grotto

First broadcast: Thursday 26th February 1981

The runner-up in the Holiday Princess competition is seen late at night entering a staff chalet.


2. The Beauty Queen Affair

First broadcast: Thursday 5th March 1981

A camper tries to bribe the Entertainments Manager and steps are taken to stop the Camp Host from celebrating his birthday every two weeks.


3. The Partridge Season

First broadcast: Thursday 12th March 1981

The Punch and Judy man gets drunk, and everyone has the problem of covering up for him so that he is not discovered by the senior camp staff.


4. The Day Of Reckoning

First broadcast: Thursday 19th March 1981

In the past, ex-jockey Fred Quilly took £300 from a race-gang to pull a horse. He failed to stop his horse winning and is convinced the gang are out for revenge.


5. Charity Begins At Home

First broadcast: Thursday 26th March 1981

Joe Maplin decrees that every Thursday will be 'Sunshine Smile Day'. The Camp Host decides to extend this to the campers by compelling any holidaymaker caught without a smile to pay a shilling to the Campers' Amenity Fund.


6. No Dogs Allowed

First broadcast: Thursday 2nd April 1981

The Camp Entertainments Manager is left with his wife's large dog to look after. All pets being banned from Maplin's Holiday Camp, he has to break in and try to keep the dog secretly in his chalet.


Series 1 Products