Filthy Rich & Catflap. Image shows from L to R: Ralph Filthy (Nigel Planer), Eddie Catflap (Adrian Edmondson), Richie Rich (Rik Mayall). Copyright: BBC.

Filthy Rich & Catflap

BBC Two sitcom about a non-celebrity and his cohorts. 6 episodes (1 series) in 1987. Stars Nigel Planer, Rik Mayall and Adrian Edmondson.

Series 1

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Wednesday 7th January 1987

Filthy and Catflap set up Richie with a paternity scam, but after accidentally viciously murdering not one but four of his milkmen, Richie's a little over-emotional.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Wednesday 14th January 1987

After a predictably rubbish and catastrophic game show appearance, Richie meets the Nolans - who blackmail him. He and Eddie devise a crafty scheme to make the cash by swindling London's trendy art world.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Wednesday 21st January 1987

Richie plans to host a dinner party for the cream of the showbiz crop. Alas, he hasn't any money to buy the food.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Wednesday 28th January 1987

Against all odds, Richie's developed a promising new TV format, but attempts to sell it to the BBC go awry. He soon learns his father is ill, and another potentially lucrative plan comes to mind.


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Wednesday 4th February 1987

A miracle has occurred: Ralph has got Richie a genuine showbiz job. After a tortuous round of Trivial Pursuit, Eddie talks his friend into a couple of drinks to celebrate...


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Wednesday 11th February 1987

After their TV-am exposure, Richie and Eddie are instructed at trial to find employment outside of showbusiness. Ralph, meanwhile, is sentenced to death!