Father Ted. Image shows from L to R: Father Dougal McGuire (Ardal O'Hanlon), Father Ted Crilly (Dermot Morgan), Mrs Doyle (Pauline McLynn), Father Jack Hackett (Frank Kelly). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.

Father Ted

Channel 4 sitcom laughing at some rubbish priests. 25 episodes (3 series), 1995 - 1998. Stars Dermot Morgan, Ardal O'Hanlon, Frank Kelly and Pauline McLynn.

Series 2, Episode 9 is repeated on More4 on Sunday at 12:15am.

Series 2 - A Christmassy Ted

When Ted's quick thinking saves a group of Priests - and the Catholic church - from a major embarrassment (involving lingerie) at Christmas, he is given the prestigious Golden Cleric award. But on Craggy Island, nothing is as simple as it seems... Apart from Dougal.

Further details

Christmas is two days away and all the lights are on - but nobody's at home in Dougal's head. He's desperate to find out what's behind the next window in the Advent Calendar - will it be a load of people in a stable, or Ruud Gullit sitting on a shed?

While Dougal is getting over-excited, Ted is brooding on yet another year stuck on Craggy Island without achieving anything. Still, at least he can look forward to a nice quiet Christmas with no unusual incidents or strange people turning up...

Broadcast details

Tuesday 24th December 1996
Channel 4
70 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Dermot Morgan Father Ted Crilly
Ardal O'Hanlon Father Dougal McGuire
Frank Kelly Father Jack Hackett
Pauline McLynn Mrs Doyle
Guest cast
Tony Guilfoyle Father Larry Duff
Gerard McSorley Father Todd Unctious
Dervla Kirwan Assumpta
Stephen Tompkinson Father Clifford
Anne Gildea Woman With Baby
Caoilinn McCormack Baby
Barry Murphy Salesman
Sean Barrett Father Fitzgerald
Donncha Crowley Father Billy
Colum Gallivan Father Reilly
Neil McCaul Father Terry
Kevin McKidd Father Deegan
Joe Taylor Father Cleary
Andrew McCulloch Bishop Tom McCaskell
Billy Boyle Chatback Priest
John O'Mahony Chatback Priest
Ed Byrne Teenager
Tom Farrelly Teenager
Tony Rohr Drunk Priest In Bar
John Delaney Sat On Priest
Brendan Dempsey (as Brendan F. Dempsey) Father Dick Mayo
Aine O'Connor Sister Helen Locklear
Clive Geraghty Fisherman
Brendan Burke Award Ceremony Priest
Miche Doherty Award Ceremony Priest
Stephen Kennedy Award Ceremony Priest
Conor Mullen Award Ceremony Priest
Pat O'Mahony Award Ceremony Priest
Paul Tylak Award Ceremony Priest
John Quinn Police Sergeant
Writing team
Graham Linehan Writer
Arthur Mathews Writer
Production team
Declan Lowney Director
Lissa Evans Producer
Mary Bell Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • See 2 press clippings related to this episode
  • Broadcast details of 57 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer & editor credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?