Father Ted. Image shows from L to R: Father Dougal McGuire (Ardal O'Hanlon), Father Ted Crilly (Dermot Morgan), Mrs Doyle (Pauline McLynn), Father Jack Hackett (Frank Kelly). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.

Father Ted

Channel 4 sitcom laughing at some rubbish priests. 25 episodes (3 series), 1995 - 1998. Stars Dermot Morgan, Ardal O'Hanlon, Frank Kelly and Pauline McLynn.

Series 2, Episode 8 is repeated on More4 on Saturday at 11:05pm.

Series 1, Episode 3 - The Passion Of Saint Tibulus

The fearsome Bishop Brennan drops by the parochial house in order to task Ted and Dougal with picketing a new film, The Passion Of Saint Tibulus.

Further details

After a night gossiping with Father Hernandez over the longest game of Cluedo in history, Ted and Dougal find themselves bullied into being moral crusaders by Bishop Brennan, with disastrous results.

His Holiness has banned the blasphemous nudie film The Passion of Saint Tibulus, but due to a legal loophole Craggy Island is the only place in the Catholic world that can show the film. The Bishop now wants Ted to launch a public protest that will make the Church's disapproval crystal clear.

After a research trip, Dougal is confused by what St Tibulus was doing with that man's banana, but not as confused as Bishop Brennan when he realises Ted's protest has given the film a massive publicity boost...

Broadcast details

Friday 5th May 1995
Channel 4
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Dermot Morgan Father Ted Crilly
    Ardal O'Hanlon Father Dougal McGuire
    Frank Kelly Father Jack Hackett
    Pauline McLynn Mrs Doyle
    Guest cast
    Patrick Drury John O'Leary
    Rynagh O'Grady Mary O'Leary
    Derrick Branche Father Jose Fernandez
    Jim Norton Bishop Len Brennan
    Jon Kenny Michael Cocheese
    Pat Leavy Woman In Cinema
    Don Foley Jim Halpin
    Ann Rowan Mrs Sheridan
    Blanaid Irvine Mrs Glynn
    Hugh B O'Brien Pat Harty
    Geoffrey Perkins Spanish Interpreter (Voice)
    Writing team
    Graham Linehan Writer
    Arthur Mathews Writer
    Production team
    Declan Lowney Director
    Geoffrey Perkins Producer
    Mary Bell Executive Producer
    Nick Ames Editor
    Anne Tilby (as Anne Tilby Jones) Production Designer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 56 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?