Father Ted. Image shows from L to R: Father Dougal McGuire (Ardal O'Hanlon), Father Ted Crilly (Dermot Morgan), Mrs Doyle (Pauline McLynn), Father Jack Hackett (Frank Kelly). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions
Father Ted

Father Ted

  • TV sitcom
  • Channel 4
  • 1995 - 1998
  • 25 episodes (3 series)

Fathers Ted Crilly, Dougal McGuire and Jack Hackett are the inept priests of Craggy Island, banished from the mainland in various circumstances. Stars Dermot Morgan, Ardal O'Hanlon, Frank Kelly and Pauline McLynn.

  • JustWatch Streaming rank this week: 380

Father Ted trivia

In a draft version of the script for "Competition Time" (Series 1, Episode 4), Mrs. Doyle's first name is given as "Joan". This was removed before it was broadcast and therefore her first name remained a secret throughout the history of the show.

Source: Father Ted: The Complete Scripts, Page 52.

In 2005, the winner of the BBC quiz show Mastermind, Patrick Gibson, chose Father Ted as his specialist subject in the grand final.


The first episode of Father Ted received just two complaints: one saying it was too anti-Catholic church, and another saying it was too pro-Catholic church.

Source: The Museum of Curiosity, Episode 4.2

Share this page