Bless This House. Image shows from L to R: Jean Abbott (Diana Coupland), Sid Abbott (Sid James), Mike Abbott (Robin Stewart), Sally Abbott (Sally Geeson). Copyright: Thames Television
Bless This House

Bless This House (1971)

  • TV sitcom
  • ITV1
  • 1971 - 1976
  • 65 episodes (6 series)

A popular 1970s sitcom starring Sid James. Sid Abbott is, day-in, day-out, hindered in anything and everything by his family. Stars Sid James, Diana Coupland, Sally Geeson, Robin Stewart, Anthony Jackson and Patsy Rowlands

Episode menu

Series 5, Episode 10 - ....And Afterwards At....

Emma, the daughter of Jean's cousin Peggy, is due to be married and the Abbott clan have not just been invited - with Peggy a widow, she's requested that Sid arrange the reception, and fill in for her late husband to give Emma away: "There is no bloody chance in the world...!"


Patsy Rowlands is not credited in this episode, but appears in a number of stills during the wedding reception montage.

Broadcast details

Monday 16th December 1974
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Thursday 16th July 2020 9:35am ITV3
Tuesday 15th September 2020 9:35am ITV3
Sunday 20th September 2020 3:00am ITV3
Wednesday 25th November 2020 8:55am ITV3
Monday 30th November 2020 2:30am ITV3
Thursday 21st January 2021 9:20am ITV3
Tuesday 26th January 2021 2:00am ITV3
Thursday 8th April 2021 8:55am ITV3
Tuesday 10th August 2021 9:10am ITV3
Saturday 14th August 2021 6:25am ITV3
Monday 21st February 2022 8:40am ITV3
Wednesday 22nd June 2022 7:35am ITV3
Monday 27th June 2022 2:10am ITV3
Monday 21st November 2022 8:05am ITV3
Monday 30th October 2023 8:40am ITV3
Sunday 5th November 2023 6:00am ITV3

Cast & crew

Sid James Sid Abbott
Diana Coupland Jean Abbott
Sally Geeson Sally Abbott
Robin Stewart Mike Abbott
Anthony Jackson Trevor Lewis
Patsy Rowlands Betty Lewis
Guest cast
Pamela Cundell Peggy
Georgina Moon Emma
Ian Sharp Alistair
Helen Keating Rosie
Writing team
Johnnie Mortimer Script Editor
Brian Cooke Script Editor
Mike Sharland Writer
Brian C Cummins (as B.C. Cummins) Writer (Additional Material)
Production team
William G Stewart Director
William G Stewart Producer
Robin Parker Production Designer
Geoff Love Composer

Share this page