Back. Image shows from L to R: Stephen (David Mitchell), Andrew (Robert Webb).


Channel 4 sitcom starring Mitchell & Webb. 12 episodes (2 series), 2017 - 2021. Stars David Mitchell, Robert Webb, Penny Downie, Louise Brealey and others.

Returns Thursday at 10pm. Episode Guide

Series 1

Back. Image shows from L to R: Andrew (Robert Webb), Stephen (David Mitchell).

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Wednesday 6th September 2017

The Nichols family are preparing for the funeral of Laurie, a much loved father, brother, husband and the celebrated landlord of the John Barleycorn Pub.

In-depth Guide

Back. Stephen (David Mitchell).

2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Wednesday 13th September 2017

The family gathers together as Alison reveals what's in Laurie's will. The pub is in debt, and Ellen decides that joining the church is the next logical step in her spiritual journey.

In-depth Guide

Back. Cass (Louise Brealey).

3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Wednesday 20th September 2017

Footfall is down in the John Barleycorn and Andrew enlists the help of Cass to make it look more like an authentic country pub.

In-depth Guide

Back. Image shows from L to R: Stephen (David Mitchell), Annie (Shelley Conn).

4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Wednesday 27th September 2017

Stephen and Andrew go on an enlightening road trip to meet the pub's suppliers, while Geoff is left to run the pub in his own inimitable way.

In-depth Guide

Back. Image shows from L to R: David Mitchell, Craig Russell.

5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Wednesday 4th October 2017

With the fire insurance policy out of date, Andrew buys Cass's shares so he can renovate the pub.

In-depth Guide

Back. Image shows from L to R: Juliet (Julie Dray), Stephen (David Mitchell).

6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Wednesday 11th October 2017

Andrew has transformed the John Barleycorn. Stephen is feeling depressed and defeated. Laurie's birthday memorial is fast approaching and Stephen needs some help writing a speech to better what will surely be Andrew's amazing oratory.

In-depth Guide

Buy Series 1

Back - Series 1

Back - Series 1 DVD

Release date: Monday 6th November 2017

Stephen is finally taking over his father's pub, and he has a tough act to follow. His dad, Laurie, is a local hero. At least he was, until he died.

There's only one problem: Stephen is a loser. And when the charismatic Andrew turns up at Laurie's funeral, Stephen's anxiety...


Series 1 Videos