Inspector Steine. Copyright: Sweet Talk.

Inspector Steine

BBC Radio 4 comedy drama. 25 episodes (4 series), 2007 - 2013. Stars Michael Fenton Stevens, John Ramm, Matt Green, Jan Ravens, Samantha Spiro, Janet Ellis and Robert Bathurst.

The Return Of Inspector Steine, Episode 1 - Towards The End

A severed head arrives in a box at Brighton police station; evil Mrs Vine has got a cunning plan to wreak havoc.

Further details

Second World war Bomb disposal hero Captain 'Mad Hoagy' Hoagland, now fallen on hard times, appears at Brighton Police Station to deliver two boxes. One contains a silver truncheon; an award for valour for Sergeant Brunswick. The other contains the head of one of Mrs Groynes' old criminal accomplices, Birthmark Potter. It is a warning to them all that Mrs G's criminal nemesis Adelaide Vine is heading back to Brighton, and that the sadistic criminal Terence Chambers is heading for town too; both hell bent on havoc and revenge...

Broadcast details

Monday 17th October 2011
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Michael Fenton Stevens Inspector Steine
John Ramm Brunswick
Matt Green Twitten
Samantha Spiro Mrs Groynes
Robert Bathurst Captain Hoagland
Writing team
Lynne Truss Writer
Production team
Marilyn Imrie Director
Karen Rose Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of another repeat
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see Composer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?