Giles Wemmbley Hogg Goes Off. Giles Wemmbley Hogg (Marcus Brigstocke). Copyright: Pozzitive Productions.

Giles Wemmbley Hogg Goes Off

BBC Radio 4 sitcom about a posh man. 31 episodes (5 series), 2002 - 2019. Stars Marcus Brigstocke, Tom Goodman-Hill, Catherine Tate, Adrian Scarborough and others.

Series 2

1. Tanzania

First broadcast: Wednesday 15th October 2003

The bumbling student backpacker sets out on an East African safari. He travels to Tanzania in an attempt to Save The Giraffe, one of the world's entirely non-endangered species.


2. Germany

First broadcast: Wednesday 22nd October 2003

Giles Wemmbley Hogg replaces his sister on a German exchange. He records the cultural diversity he encounters in his audio diary.

In-depth Guide

3. Cuba

First broadcast: Wednesday 29th October 2003

The posh fool discovers the metaphorical meaning of riding an inflatable banana.

In-depth Guide

4. Egypt

First broadcast: Wednesday 5th November 2003

Giles' audio diary is from Egypt. He's on a mission to nominate Cairo as the ideal town to be twinned with Budleigh Salterton.

In-depth Guide

5. India

First broadcast: Wednesday 12th November 2003

Giles has a torrid time as he travels to New Delhi in India to find peace and enlightenment and to play for the Durham First XI on their cricket tour.


6. New Zealand

First broadcast: Wednesday 19th November 2003

Giles records his audio diary in New Zealand, where he hopes to win back a former girlfriend.

In-depth Guide

Buy Series 2

Giles Wemmbley Hogg Goes Off - Series 2

Giles Wemmbley Hogg Goes Off - Series 2 Audio

Release date: Monday 4th February 2008

Budleigh Salterton's most famous citizen is off round the world on another six adventures. Giles travels to far-off foreign lands (Germany, Cuba, New Zealand, Egypt, India and finally Tanzania) and records his adventures for the benefit of listeners.