Giles Wemmbley Hogg Goes Off. Giles Wemmbley Hogg (Marcus Brigstocke). Copyright: Pozzitive Productions.

Giles Wemmbley Hogg Goes Off

BBC Radio 4 sitcom about a posh man. 31 episodes (5 series), 2002 - 2019. Stars Marcus Brigstocke, Tom Goodman-Hill, Catherine Tate, Adrian Scarborough and others.

Series 1

1. The Sudan

First broadcast: Tuesday 16th July 2002

A naive son of Budleigh Salterton, Giles Wemmbley-Hogg goes fishing in the Sudan.

In-depth Guide

2. China

First broadcast: Tuesday 23rd July 2002

Giles compiles an audio diary on a trip to Beijing for his Duke of Edinburgh Award. He plans to find his Uncle Jeff and mend the Great Wall of China.

In-depth Guide

3. Bolivia

First broadcast: Tuesday 30th July 2002

Giles arrives in Bolivia to do some bird spotting and within hours is causing mayhem. It's not long before he's behind bars.

In-depth Guide

4. The Arctic

First broadcast: Tuesday 6th August 2002

Frozen fiascos are afoot, as the dim student traveller sails with Greenpeace after winning a cereal packet competition.

In-depth Guide

5. Moscow

First broadcast: Tuesday 13th August 2002

Cycling solo on a tandem, the inept student is Russia-bound fundraising for donkeys. He starts by riding along the M25.

In-depth Guide

6. Thailand

First broadcast: Tuesday 20th August 2002

Giles' audio diary from Thailand, where he hopes to emerge spiritually. He does at least emerge physically, thanks to a sarong.

In-depth Guide

Buy Series 1