Comedy Poster Awards

About the awards

A poster promoting Comedy Poster Awards voting inside a Fringe venue

The Comedy Poster Awards celebrate the best artwork at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

With hundreds of acts and hundreds of thousands of potential customers coming to the Fringe, having a strong, funny, informative, or entertaining poster has become a vital marketing tactic for comedians to get bums on seats.

First taking place in 2014, this competition was established by TV and live comedy producer Gina Lyons to celebrate the most popular and loved designs in poster artwork at the Fringe: from the idea, to the photo, to the finished artwork.

We look to shout about and celebrate the hard graft that goes into perfecting the art of poster design, ideas and photography.

There are two categories: The Panel Award, in which the shortlist and winner is decided by expert judges; and The Audience Award, which is decided via voting buttons on this website.

The awards will return in 2024.

Any questions? Contact us via British Comedy Guide.

The prize

Out of Hand logo

Each of 2023's winners received a package of free placements of their 2024 Fringe posters around Edinburgh, courtesy of the city council's advertising partner, Out of Hand.

They say: Out of Hand are proud to support these awards. Having witnessed so many different posters across the city, this is a great opportunity to see which ones have really made an impact with the public and stand out with great creative design.

The judges

The 2023 judging panel consisted of:

Previous winners

2023 Panel Award - Bennett Arron

Bennett Arron

2023 Audience Award - Daniel Foxx

Daniel Foxx

2022 Panel Award - Milo Edwards

Milo Edwards

2022 Audience Award - Jordan Gray

Jordan Gray

2019 Panel Award - Jessica Fostekew

Hench. Jessica Fostekew. Copyright: Idil Sukan / Chris Lince

2019 Audience Award - Sofie Hagen

The Bumswing. Sofie Hagen. Copyright: Matt Crockett / Haiminh Le

2018 Panel Award - Lou Sanders

Lou Sanders: Shame Pig. Lou Sanders

2018 Beer52 Audience Award - Olaf Falafel

Olaf Falafel: There's No i In Idiot. Olaf Falafel

2016 Panel Award - Lou Sanders

What's that lady doing?. Lou Sanders

2016 Audience Award - Desiree Burch

Evolution. Desiree Burch

2015 Panel Award - Tom Parry

Tom Parry: Yellow T-shirt. Tom Parry

2015 Audience Award - Michael Stranney, Olaf Falafel

Expect the unexporcupine

2014 Panel Award - Holly Walsh

Never Had It. Holly Walsh

Small print

The Comedy Poster Awards are facilitated by British Comedy Guide. Your interactions with this website are covered by British Comedy Guide's Privacy Policy.

Entries to the competition are subject to the Comedy Poster Awards rules.