Scottish Comedy Awards 2020 results

Wednesday 23rd September 2020, 12:42pm

Jim Smith

The results of the Scottish Comedy Awards 2020 have been announced.

Frankie Boyle won in two categories, whilst stand-up Jim Smith was announced as the recipient of the Outstanding Achievement title.

The winners were due to be announced at a ceremony in August, however this was delayed as the Edinburgh Festival was cancelled. Now, with Scotland's coronavirus restrictions continuing to put a halt to live events, the organisers decided to forego a ceremony and released the list of winners online.

They say: "So with no fanfare whatsoever, as none of these Scottish comics have any live shows in Scotland to promote, now feels like the correct time to announce the winners of the Scottish Comedy Awards 2020. Consider this the equivalent of a Westminster Government Minister's Tweet @ 10pm telling you your life is about to get worse."

The results are:

Best Headliner

Mark Nelson

Mark Nelson

Other nominees: Janey Godley, Larry Dean, Ray Bradshaw and Susie McCabe.

Best Newcomer

Amelia Bayler

Amelia Bayler

Other nominees: Chris Weir, Connor Burns, Krystal Evans and Liam Farrelly.

Best Compere

Rosco McClelland

Rosco McClelland

Other nominees: Gus Lymburn, Jay Lafferty and Liam Withnail.

Breakthrough Act

Paul McDaniel

Paul McDaniel

Other nominees: Liam Farrelly and Susan Riddell.

Best Sketch / Variety Act

Will Naameh

MC Hammersmith

Other nominees: Colin Cloud, Spontaneous Players and Stu & Gary.

Best Actor

Good Omens. Image shows from L to R: Crowley (David Tennant), Aziraphale (Michael Sheen)

David Tennant (for Good Omens)

Other nominees: Jack Docherty (Scot Squad), Ncuti Gatwa (Sex Education) and Susan Riddell (The State Of It).

Best TV Comic

Frankie Boyle's New World Order. Frankie Boyle. Copyright: Zeppotron

Frankie Boyle

Other nominees: Daniel Sloss, Iain Stirling, Janey Godley, Jim Smith and Larry Dean.

Best Radio Comic

The Comedy Underground. Ashley Storrie. Copyright: Dabster Productions

Ashley Storrie

Other nominees: Des Clarke, Jim Smith and Lewis Macleod.

Best Solo Tour / Festival Show

Jojo Sutherland

Jojo Sutherland (Riches To Rags)

Other nominees: Danny Bhoy, Fern Brady, Gary Meikle, Janey Godley, Jim Smith, Larry Dean, Liam Withnail, Men With Coconuts, Ray Bradshaw, Stephen Buchanan and Stuart McPherson.

Best TV Show

Frankie Boyle's Tour Of Scotland. Frankie Boyle

Frankie Boyle's Tour Of Scotland

Other nominees: Breaking The News, Still Game, The State Of It and Up For It.

Best Radio Show

Breaking The News. Des Clarke. Copyright: BBC

Breaking The News

Other nominees: Ashley Storrie, The Good, The Bad And The Unexpected and Bowie At Breakfast.

Best Online Content

Janey Godley

Janey Godley

Other nominees: Lewis Capaldi, Limmy, Marc Jennings and Stuart McPherson.

Best Comedy Writer

The Wee Man. Neil Bratchpiece

Neil Bratchpiece

Other nominees: Cat Hepburn, Neil Forsyth and Steven Dick.

Best Comedy Event

Still Game Live. Image shows from L to R: Isa Drennan (Jane McCarry), Tam Mullen (Mark Cox), Boaby (Gavin Mitchell), Victor McDade (Greg Hemphill), Jack Jarvis (Ford Kiernan)

Still Game Live

Other nominees: Eddy Brimson (Naughty Boy), Gary Faulds (SEC Glasgow), Gary Meikle (Glasgow Royal Concert Hall) and Richard Gadd (Baby Reindeer).

Best Comedy Club

Cowboy picture on the stage at The Stand

The Stand (Glasgow)

Other nominees: Gilded Basement (Edinburgh), Glee (Glasgow), Monkey Barrel (Edinburgh), Rotunda (Glasgow) and The Stand (Edinburgh).

Best Comedy Night

Crossmylaff - Glasgow

Other nominees: Des Mclean's East Kilbride Sports Club, Enterteasement - Glasgow, Icebreaker - Dundee, Monday Night Improv - Glasgow and Project X - Edinburgh.

Outstanding Achievement

Jim Smith

The judging panel decided to award this prize to Jim Smith, as he was the first Scottish comedian to have his solo show filmed, produced and recorded by BBC Scotland and subsequently became the first ever Scottish comedian to have a full hour of live stand-up broadcast on primetime Scottish terrestrial TV before Hogmanay.

Outstanding Contribution

Chris Broomfield (AKA The Ram)

The judges say: "For over a decade, Chris Broomfield stuffed his hand in his wallet and lovingly nurtured Glasgow's oldest running comedy night, Comedy @ The State Bar. It was there in that tiny basement where many of Glasgow's new aspiring comics got their first gig at a weekend alongside pro comedians. Many of those pro comics having had their first gigs alongside Chris and they happily return to The State to perform in its intimate warm atmosphere."

More information about the Scottish Comedy Awards, including pie charts revealing how the industry voted, can be found via the Scottish Comedy Awards website

Share this page