Chortle Awards 2019 nominees

Tuesday 26th February 2019, 6:00pm

Chortle Awards

The nominees have been revealed for the 2019 Chortle Awards.

The shortlists are led by stand-up Kiri Pritchard-McLean who has four nominations. She appears in the lists for best breakthrough act; best compere; in the music and variety category as co-host of musical comedy night Amusical; and in the internet category for All Killa No Filla, the podcast she co-hosts with Rachel Fairburn.

Ciaran Dowd, who won Best Newcomer at last year's Edinburgh Festival, and Lazy Susan (the double act comprising of Freya Parker and Celeste Dring), have been nominated in two categories each. Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton are also up for two awards, one linked to The League Of Gentlemen's live show, and the other for Inside No. 9.

The shortlists in full are:

Best Newcomer

Maisie Adam

Maisie Adam

Sara Barron

Sara Barron

Jack Gleadow

Jack Gleadow

Sarah Keyworth

Sarah Keyworth

Best Club Comic

Scott Capurro

Scott Capurro

Larry Dean

Larry Dean

Suzi Ruffell. Copyright: Andy Hollingworth

Suzi Ruffell

Fin Taylor. Copyright: Zak Kaczmarek

Fin Taylor

Breakthrough Act

Ciarán Dowd

Ciaran Dowd

Man Like Mobeen. Mobeen (Guz Khan). Copyright: Cave Bear Productions

Guz Khan

Garrett Millerick

Garrett Millerick

Kiri Pritchard-McLean

Kiri Pritchard-McLean

Best Compere

Laura Lexx. Copyright: Karla Gowlett

Laura Lexx

Zoe Lyons

Zoe Lyons

Dan Nightingale

Dan Nightingale

Kiri Pritchard-McLean

Kiri Pritchard-McLean

Character, Sketch And Improv

Short & Curly. Image shows from L to R: Rebecca Shorrocks, Paul F Taylor

Short & Curly

Ciarán Dowd

Ciaran Dowd

Gareth Joyner

Myra Dubois

Lazy Susan. Image shows from L to R: Celeste Dring, Freya Parker

Lazy Susan

Music and Variety

Amusical. Image shows from L to R: Jayde Adams, Dave Cribb, Kiri Pritchard-McLean. Copyright: Burning Bright Productions


Ada Campe

Ada Campe

Rachel Parris

Rachel Parris

Raymond & Mr Timpkins

The Raymond and Mr Timpkins Revue

Best Show

James Acaster

James Acaster: Cold Lasagne Hate Myself 1999

Alex Edelman

Alex Edelman: Just For Us

Natalie Palamides

Natalie Palamides: Nate

Lazy Susan. Image shows from L to R: Celeste Dring, Freya Parker

Lazy Susan

Best Tour

Kevin Bridges. Copyright: Andy Hollingworth

Kevin Bridges: Brand New Tour

Early Doors Live. Image shows from L to R: Craig Cash, John Henshaw, Phil Mealey

Early Doors

The League Of Gentlemen Live Again. Copyright: Phil McIntyre Entertainment

The League Of Gentlemen

Joseph Morpurgo

Joseph Morpurgo: Hammerhead

Dara O Briain

Dara O Briain: Voice of Reason

Best TV Comedian

Taskmaster. Greg Davies. Copyright: Avalon Television

Greg Davies

Taskmaster. Bob Mortimer. Copyright: Avalon Television

Bob Mortimer

Judge Romesh. Romesh Ranganathan. Copyright: Hungry Bear Media

Romesh Ranganathan

8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown. Katherine Ryan

Katherine Ryan

Best TV Show

Cunk On.... Philomena Cunk (Diane Morgan). Copyright: House Of Tomorrow

Cunk On Britain

Derry Girls. Image shows from L to R: Orla McCool (Louisa Harland), Clare Devlin (Nicola Coughlan), Erin Quinn (Saoirse-Monica Jackson), James Maguire (Dylan Llewellyn), Michelle Mallon (Jamie-Lee O'Donnell). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions

Derry Girls

The Good Place

The Good Place

Inside No. 9. Image shows from L to R: Steve Pemberton, Reece Shearsmith. Copyright: BBC

Inside No. 9

Radio Award

Rebecca Front

Incredible Women

John Finnemore's Souvenir Programme. Image shows from L to R: Lawry Lewin, Margaret Cabourn-Smith, John Finnemore, Carrie Quinlan, Simon Kane. Copyright: BBC

John Finnemore's Souvenir Programme

Mark Steel's In Town. Mark Steel. Copyright: BBC

Mark Steel's In Town

The News Quiz. Miles Jupp. Copyright: BBC

The News Quiz

Book Award

Henry Normal. Henry Normal. Copyright: BBC

A Normal Family by Henry Normal

Robin Ince. Copyright: Timothy Ginn

I'm A Joke And So Are You by Robin Ince

Billy Connolly: Made In Scotland. Billy Connolly. Copyright: 7 Wonder

Made In Scotland by Billy Connolly

A Bit Of Fry & Laurie. Image shows from L to R: Hugh Laurie, Stephen Fry

Soupy Twists, the Fry & Laurie biography by Jem Roberts

Internet Award

All Killa No Filla Live. Image shows from L to R: Rachel Fairburn, Kiri Pritchard-McLean

All Killa No Filla

Adam Buxton

Adam Buxton's podcast

Cariad Lloyd

Cariad Lloyd's Griefcast

Deborah Frances-White

The Guilty Feminist

The shortlists were drawn up by a panel of industry judges. The winners will now be decided via a public vote.

The polls close at 4pm on 6th March, with the winners then revealed at a ceremony in London on 18th March hosted by Arthur Smith.

Share this page