Chortle Awards 2019 results

Monday 18th March 2019, 10:43pm

Chortle Awards.

The winners of the 2019 Chortle Awards have been revealed.

The results, based on a public vote, were announced at a ceremony in London tonight (18th March).

The winners in full are:

Best Newcomer

Sarah Keyworth.

Sarah Keyworth

Shortlist: Maisie Adam, Sara Barron, Jack Gleadow

Best Club Comic

Suzi Ruffell. Copyright: Andy Hollingworth.

Suzi Ruffell

Shortlist: Scott Capurro, Larry Dean, Fin Taylor

Breakthrough Act

Kiri Pritchard-McLean.

Kiri Pritchard-McLean

Shortlist: Ciaran Dowd, Guz Khan, Garrett Millerick

Best Compere

Kiri Pritchard-McLean.

Kiri Pritchard-McLean

Shortlist: Laura Lexx, Zoe Lyons, Dan Nightingale

Character, Sketch And Improv

Lazy Susan.

Lazy Susan

Shortlist: Short & Curly, Ciaran Dowd, Myra Dubois

Music and Variety

Rachel Parris.

Rachel Parris

Shortlist: Amusical, Ada Campe, The Raymond and Mr Timpkins Revue

Best Show

James Acaster.

James Acaster: Cold Lasagne Hate Myself 1999

Shortlist: Alex Edelman: Just For Us; Natalie Palamides: Nate; Lazy Susan

Best Tour

The League Of Gentlemen. Image shows from L to R: Edward (Reece Shearsmith), Tubbs (Steve Pemberton). Copyright: BBC.

The League Of Gentlemen

Shortlist Kevin Bridges: Brand New Tour; Early Doors; Joseph Morpurgo: Hammerhead; Dara O Briain: Voice of Reason

Best TV Comedian

Katherine Ryan.

Katherine Ryan

Shortlist: Greg Davies, Bob Mortimer, Romesh Ranganathan

Best TV Show

Inside No. 9. Image shows from L to R: Reece Shearsmith, Steve Pemberton. Copyright: BBC.

Inside No. 9

Shortlist: Cunk On Britain, Derry Girls, The Good Place

Radio Award

The News Quiz. Miles Jupp. Copyright: BBC.

The News Quiz

Shortlist: Incredible Women, John Finnemore's Souvenir Programme, Mark Steel's In Town

Book Award

Billy Connolly: Made In Scotland. Billy Connolly.

Made In Scotland by Billy Connolly

Shortlist: A Normal Family by Henry Normal, I'm A Joke And So Are You by Robin Ince, Soupy Twists, the Fry & Laurie biography by Jem Roberts

Internet Award

Adam Buxton's Shed Of Christmas. Adam Buxton. Copyright: Burning Bright Productions.

Adam Buxton's podcast

Shortlist: All Killa No Filla, Cariad Lloyd's Griefcast, The Guilty Feminist

Comedian's Comedian 2019

Taskmaster. James Acaster. Copyright: Avalon Television.

James Acaster

Event Of The Year 2019

Hannah Gadsby.

Hannah Gadsby's Nanette on Netflix

Chortle editor Steve Bennett said: "This astounding live show has also become a game-changer in what a TV stand-up special can be, and has rightly made her a major player in international comedy."

Venue & Club Night Awards

99 Club (London), Komedia (Brighton), Frog And Bucket (Manchester), Glee (Birmingham), Glee (Cardiff) and The Stand (Edinburgh) won the venue awards. Meanwhile the Best Club Night titles went to Quantum Leopard at 2Northdown (London), Goat Comedy Club (Brighton), XS Malarkey (Manchester), Jericho Comedy (Oxford), Buffalo Comedy Club (Cardiff) and Red Raw (Edinburgh).

Kenny O'Brien, the outgoing manager of The Stand comedy clubs, was the recipient of the Offstage Contribution award.

Related Guides

Latest news