Wodehouse Playhouse. Image shows from L to R: Pauline Collins, John Alderton. Copyright: BBC.

Wodehouse Playhouse

BBC One sitcom of P.G. Wodehouse stories. 20 episodes (3 series), 1975 - 1978. Stars John Alderton, Pauline Collins and PG Wodehouse.

Series 3

1. The Smile That Wins

First broadcast: Tuesday 31st October 1978

Detective Mulliner has never smiled then Doctor's orders decree he must start! He develops an unnerving smile which has interesting results and wins him his heart's desire.


2. Trouble Down At Tudsleigh

First broadcast: Tuesday 7th November 1978

Freddie Widgeon visits Tudsleigh Hall and falls for April Carroway. He's hampered by her athletic and violent suitor Captain Bradbury and loses his dignity and clothing in pursuit.


3. Tangled Hearts

First broadcast: Tuesday 14th November 1978

At the golf club Smallwood Bessemer and Carter Muldoon change fiancees. A battle to win back the originals commences on the golf course, eventually restoring happiness.


4. The Luck Of The Stiffhams

First broadcast: Tuesday 21st November 1978

Adolphus Stiffham and Lady Geraldine Spettisbury wish to marry but her father, the Earl of Wivelscombe is against it. Stiffham's luck is with him as he conjures up a ghostly plan!


5. The Editor Regrets

First broadcast: Tuesday 28th November 1978

Bingo Little has been fired by Mr. Purkiss, his proprietor, because he ignored a famous writer, Bella May Jobson. Winning his job back requires all his cunning and story-telling skills.


6. Big Business

First broadcast: Tuesday 5th December 1978

Reggie Mulliner has a windfall, loses it because of advice from his fiancee's guardian, then loses his fiancee. A virtuoso pantomime performance revives both his romance and his finances.


7. Mulliner's Buck-U-Uppo

First broadcast: Tuesday 12th December 1978

Augustine Mulliner is a mild-mannered, timid cleric until he partakes of some new tonic Buck-U-Uppo and experiences personality and agility changes that revive his life astonishingly.


Series 3 Products