Wodehouse Playhouse. Image shows from L to R: Pauline Collins, John Alderton. Copyright: BBC.

Wodehouse Playhouse

BBC One sitcom of P.G. Wodehouse stories. 20 episodes (3 series), 1975 - 1978. Stars John Alderton, Pauline Collins and PG Wodehouse.

Series 1

1. The Truth About George

First broadcast: Wednesday 23rd April 1975

George Mulliner's atempts to profess his love to Susan are hampered by his speech impediment. The cure turns out to be rather drastic.


2. Romance At Droitgate Spa

First broadcast: Wednesday 30th April 1975

People can be so snobbish about illness. Freddie Fitch-Fitch requires the blessing from his uncle on a forthcoming marriage, however, he must use subterfuge to obtain it.


3. Portrait Of A Disciplinarian

First broadcast: Wednesday 7th May 1975

Reginald Mulliner is invited to tea by Nurse Wilks. He finds that his formidable old Nanny has lost none of her charms and neither has his old friend Jane Oliphant!


4. Unpleasantness At Bludleigh Court

First broadcast: Wednesday 14th May 1975

Charlotte Mulliner fals in love with a fellow poet, however, the course of true love does not run smoothly when the family home of her suitor casts a spell on them both.


5. The Rise Of Minna Nordstrom

First broadcast: Wednesday 21st May 1975

A story which charts the rise to stardom of Minna Nordstrom and how she uses her guile to land a lead role in Hollywood.


6. Rodney Fails To Qualify

First broadcast: Wednesday 28th May 1975

A heart-rending tale of love amongst golfers and poets! Can William get a birdie or will his approach be below par?


7. A Voice From The Past

First broadcast: Wednesday 4th June 1975

The meek and mild Sacheverell Mulliner mistakenly takes a correspondence course in Iron Will and Self Confidence, which proves rather too effective for his fiancee's liking.


Series 1 Products