The Piglet Files. Image shows from L to R: Andrew Maxwell (John Ringham), Peter 'Piglet' Chapman (Nicholas Lyndhurst), Major Maurice Drummond (Clive Francis). Copyright: London Weekend Television
The Piglet Files

The Piglet Files

  • TV sitcom
  • ITV1
  • 1990 - 1992
  • 21 episodes (3 series)

Mild-mannered, unassuming electronics teacher Peter Chapman is head-hunted by MI5 to teach their spies about the latest espionage technology. Stars Nicholas Lyndhurst, Clive Francis, Serena Evans, John Ringham, Michael Percival and more.

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 4 - The Ice Man Cometh

When the Russians mistake Piglet for another agent, it seems that his life may suddenly be in great danger. Meanwhile, his latest technological developments aren't exactly working as intended.

Broadcast details

Friday 28th September 1990
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Friday 12th May 2017 7:00am Gold
Wednesday 7th June 2017 7:00am Gold
Sunday 9th July 2017 8:00am Gold
Thursday 13th July 2017 7:20am Gold
Saturday 2nd September 2017 8:35am Gold
Saturday 23rd September 2017 8:40am Gold
Sunday 24th September 2017 1:25am Gold
Tuesday 6th March 2018 7:10am Gold
Friday 25th May 2018 7:35am Gold
Sunday 27th May 2018 7:40am Gold
Tuesday 29th May 2018 7:50am Gold
Sunday 26th August 2018 8:05am Gold
Monday 27th August 2018 7:15am Gold
Wednesday 5th September 2018 7:20am Gold
Sunday 23rd September 2018 7:30am Gold
Monday 24th September 2018 7:45am Gold
Thursday 27th September 2018 7:35am Gold
Thursday 20th June 2019 8:20am Gold
Wednesday 9th October 2019 8:10am Gold
Thursday 10th October 2019 7:10am Gold
Wednesday 5th February 2020 7:20am Gold
Friday 6th March 2020 7:35am Gold
Saturday 7th March 2020 7:05am Gold

Cast & crew

Nicholas Lyndhurst Peter 'Piglet' Chapman
Clive Francis Major Maurice Drummond
Serena Evans Sarah Chapman
John Ringham Andrew Maxwell
Michael Percival Adrian Dexter
Steven Law Lewis
Paul Cooper Trueman
Guest cast
Rupert Vansittart KGB Officer
Jonathan Adams KGB Secretary
Terry Taplin Toby Sutton
Jenny Robbins Receptionist
Richard Walker Armstrong
Amanda Drewry Kate
Michael Lumsden Steve
Romolo Bruni Waiter
Writing team
Paul Minett Writer
Brian Leveson Writer
Production team
Robin Carr Director
Robin Carr Producer
Graham Sisson Editor
Alison Humphries Production Designer
Tony Arnell Casting Director
Sue Born-Thompson Costume Designer
Paul Stripp Lighting Designer
Rod Argent Composer
Peter Van Hooke Composer

Share this page