The Café. Image shows from L to R: Richard Dickens (Ralf Little), Sarah Porter (Michelle Terry). Copyright: Jellylegs
The Café

The Café

  • TV sitcom
  • Sky One
  • 2011 - 2013
  • 13 episodes (2 series)

Gentle sitcom based around a Weston-super-Mare café that acts as the social hub for the seaside town. Stars Ellie Haddington, Michelle Terry, June Watson, Ralf Little, Phoebe Waller-Bridge and more.

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 2 - Connection Failure

The internet is down at Cyril's, but it's not the only thing that's struggling to connect as Phil tries to mend a few bridges.

Further details

The Café. Image shows from L to R: Carol Porter (Ellie Haddington), Stan Astill (David Troughton). Copyright: Jellylegs

The internet is down at Cyril's, although it's not the only thing that's struggling to connect this week. Making up for lost time, Phil tries to mend a few bridges with Sarah, but, still reeling from the news of Richard and Ava's engagement, his daughter isn't in the mood to receive life advice.

Ex-wife Carol, on the other hand, is showing signs of thawing, prompting Stan to further delay asking his big question. Plus, Kieran clashes with a trio of thunder-stealing clowns (the circus is in town), and newbie Jason reveals the reasons behind his stint at the allotments.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 31st July 2013
Sky One
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 31st July 2013 9:00pm Sky1
Sunday 4th August 2013 9:00pm Sky1
Monday 27th October 2014 1:30am Sky1
Thursday 25th June 2015 3:30am Sky2

Cast & crew

Ellie Haddington Carol Porter
Michelle Terry Sarah Porter
June Watson Mary Ellis
Ralf Little Richard Dickens
Phoebe Waller-Bridge Chloe Astill
Kevin Trainor Keiran Barker
David Troughton Stan Astill
Carolin Stoltz Ava Lipinski
Brian Murphy Frank Dobson
Marcia Warren Alice Dobson
Robert Glenister Phil Porter
Kobna Holdbrook-Smith Jason
Bob Roach Deckchair Derek
Guest cast
Ross Green Ugo the Unicyclist
Mark Donald Magic Marker
Danny Chase Daffodil Danny
Dean Bentley Hawkins Broadband Barry
Seeta Indrani Ms Brenda Kiely
Writing team
Ralf Little Writer
Michelle Terry Writer
Katherine Beacon Script Editor
Production team
Robin Sheppard Director
Susie Liggat Producer
Craig Cash Executive Producer
Lucy Ansbro Executive Producer
Lucy Lumsden Executive Producer
Sarah Dibsdall Line Producer
Ralf Little Associate Producer
Michelle Terry Associate Producer
Joshua Cunliffe (as Josh Cunliffe) Editor
Roderick Stratfold (as Rod Stratfold) Production Designer
Angela Grosvenor Casting Director
Lynne Gibson Costume Designer
David Marsh Director of Photography
Jill Walton (as Jill Sweeney) Make-up Designer
Adam Lipinski Composer
Chris Stoaling 1st Assistant Director

Share this page