Pardon The Expression. Leonard Swindley (Arthur Lowe). Copyright: Granada Television.

Pardon The Expression

ITV sitcom set in a shop. 37 episodes (2 series), 1965 - 1966. Stars Arthur Lowe, Paul Dawkins, Robert Dorning, Betty Driver and others.

Series 2, Episode 15 - Rustle Of Spring

When Leonard Swindley becomes the recipient of a surprise legacy, he suddenly finds attitudes changing towards him.


From an original idea by Patrick Scanlan.

Broadcast details

Monday 25th April 1966
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Arthur Lowe Leonard Swindley
Robert Dorning Mr Walter Hunt
Betty Driver Mrs. Edgeley
Joy Stewart Miss Sinclair
Guest cast
Julian Holloway Norman (The Porter)
Fanny Carby Fiona McBride
Wendy Richard Girl with dog
John Laurie James McBride
Writing team
Harry Driver Writer
Vince Powell Writer
Production team
Michael Cox Director
Derek Granger Producer
H.V. Kershaw Executive Producer