British Comedy Guide

Please consider donating to help British Comedy Guide produce quality comedy coverage. Thank you. Find out more
Pardon The Expression. Leonard Swindley (Arthur Lowe). Copyright: Granada Television
Pardon The Expression

Pardon The Expression

  • TV sitcom
  • ITV1
  • 1965 - 1966
  • 37 episodes (2 series)

Leonard Swindley has left Gamma Garments and now finds himself as assistant manager at a national chain store, Dobson and Hawks. Stars Arthur Lowe, Paul Dawkins, Robert Dorning, Betty Driver, Joy Stewart and more.


Key cast & crew credits

Arthur Lowe Leonard Swindley
Paul Dawkins Mr. Parbold (Series 1)
Robert Dorning Mr Walter Hunt (Series 2)
Betty Driver Mrs. Edgeley
Joy Stewart Miss Sinclair
Barbara Young Pam Plummer (Series 1)
Holly Doone Mavis Foster (Series 1)
John Le Mesurier Sir Charles Dobson (Series 2)
Anthony Sharp Brigadier Hawk (Series 2)
Writing team
Harry Driver Writer
Jack Rosenthal Writer (Series 1)
Vince Powell Writer
Production team
Wally Butler (as Walter Butler) Director (Series 1)
Michael Cox Director (Series 2)
Harry Driver Producer (Series 1)
Derek Granger Producer (Series 2)
H.V. Kershaw Executive Producer
Peter Caldwell Production Designer

Share this page