Only An Excuse?. Jonathan Watson
Only An Excuse?

Only An Excuse?

  • TV sketch show
  • BBC One Scotland
  • 1993 - 2021
  • 32 episodes

Famous Scottish football satire show. Every Hogmanay, Jonathan Watson mimics Scotland's top personalities and the heroes and villains of football. Also features Gerry McLaughlin, Julie Austin, Chris Forbes and Sheila Donald.

Episode menu

Episode Four

Scotland boss Stevie Clarke comes to terms with actually qualifying for something, King Kenny appears in a biopic and deconstructs cinema and ace-pundit Charlie Nick compares the Scotland team to a selection of puddings. Elsewhere a respected TV travelogue veteran discovers the joys of a rail-replacement bus service in Ayrshire, the Professor answers the people's questions and a gonk washes-up on the beach in TV crime spoof Millport.

Broadcast details

Thursday 4th March 2021
BBC Scotland
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Friday 5th March 2021 11:30pm BBC Scotland
Thursday 15th July 2021 10:30pm BBC Scotland
Friday 16th July 2021 11:30pm BBC Scotland
Friday 5th November 2021 11:30pm BBC Scotland
Friday 17th December 2021 9:30pm BBC Scotland
Friday 27th May 2022 11:30pm BBC Scotland
Friday 16th September 2022 10:30pm BBC Scotland
Friday 16th December 2022 11:00pm BBC Scotland

Cast & crew

Jonathan Watson Various
Guest cast
Ryan Fletcher Ensemble Actor
Louise McCarthy Ensemble Actor
Clare Waugh Ensemble Actor
James Young Ensemble Actor
Joy McAvoy Ensemble Actor
Mark Cox Ensemble Actor
Alistair McGowan Ensemble Actor
Grant Smeaton Ensemble Actor
Geoff Boyz Ensemble Actor
Laurie Ventry Ensemble Actor
Muriel Gray Ensemble Actor
Jordan Young Ensemble Actor
Writing team
John McGlade Writer
Stephen McLaughlin Writer
Andy Bollen Writer
Chuck Gayfield Writer
Wes Fargo Writer
Keiron Nicholson Writer
Rikki Brown Writer
Alistair McGowan Writer
James Doonan (as Doonan & Munroe) Writer
Gus Beattie Writer
Paul Riley Writer
The Reynolds Brothers Writer
Colin Munro (as Doonan & Munroe) Writer
Production team
Iain Davidson Director
Ron Bain Director
Philip Differ Producer
Ewan Angus Executive Producer
Rab Christie Executive Producer
Gavin Smith Executive Producer
Colin Gilbert Executive Producer
Gordon Miller Editor
Lee McKellar Editor
Laura Donnelly Production Designer
Iain McDonald Production Designer
Suzanne Field Production Designer
Annette Gillies Production Designer
David Jennings Production Designer
Graham Rose Production Designer
Denise Coombes Costume Designer
Paul Farrow Costume Designer
Carole K. Fraser Costume Designer
Katherine Hyland Costume Designer
Yvonne Simpson Costume Designer
Brian Jobson Director of Photography
John I. McNeill (as John I McNeill) Director of Photography
Des O'Hare Director of Photography
Amy Buchanan Make-up Designer
Julie Dorrat-Keenan Make-up Designer
Kirstin Innes Make-up Designer
Jacqui Mallett Make-up Designer
Heather Millington Make-up Designer
Sam Print Make-up Designer
Mark Ash 1st Assistant Director
Wendy Ashman 1st Assistant Director
Amanda Black 1st Assistant Director
David Boyd 1st Assistant Director
Susan Clark 1st Assistant Director
Helen Doherty 1st Assistant Director
Tim Franklin 1st Assistant Director
Dawn Harvey 1st Assistant Director
Carol-Anne Henderson (as Carol Anne Henderson) 1st Assistant Director
Brian Horsburgh 1st Assistant Director
Morris Milne 1st Assistant Director
Ted Mitchell 1st Assistant Director
Fay Selby 1st Assistant Director
Kath Wishart 1st Assistant Director

Share this page