Only An Excuse?. Jonathan Watson.

Only An Excuse?

BBC One Scotland sketch show starring Jonathan Watson. 27 episodes, 1993 - 2021. Stars Jonathan Watson, Gerry McLaughlin, Julie Austin, Chris Forbes and Sheila Donald.

Episode Two

Andre Rieu fiddles away to showcase his Scottish football collection, Line Of Duty meets Taggart in the same police station, and Macca dons his whites for a tennis lesson from a national treasure. And, at the end of the day, Jim and Charlie discover you can never use too many clichés.

Broadcast details

Thursday 18th February 2021
BBC Scotland
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jonathan Watson Various
Guest cast
Louise McCarthy Ensemble Actor
Alex Norton Ensemble Actor
Joy McAvoy Ensemble Actor
Mark Cox Ensemble Actor
Alistair McGowan Ensemble Actor
Tony Roper Ensemble Actor
Grant Smeaton Ensemble Actor
Chinedu Igu Ensemble Actor
Murray Davidson Ensemble Actor
Hazel Irvine Ensemble Actor
Lewis Macleod Ensemble Actor
David Murray Ensemble Actor
Judy Murray Ensemble Actor
Sally Reid Ensemble Actor
Writing team
Stephen McLaughlin Writer
Iain Davidson (as Noddy Davidson) Writer
Chuck Gayfield Writer
Wes Fargo Writer
Rikki Brown Writer
Ginger Kidd Writer
James Andrew Writer
Greg Hemphill Writer
Brendan McGeever Writer
Alistair McGowan Writer
Donald Mcleary Writer
Chris McQueer Writer
Doonan & Munroe Writer
Jim Walker Writer
Production team
Iain Davidson Director
Ron Bain Director
Philip Differ Producer
Ewan Angus Executive Producer
Rab Christie Executive Producer
Gavin Smith Executive Producer
Colin Gilbert Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 2 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer, 1st assistant director, make-up designer, costume designer, director of photography & editor credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?