Only An Excuse?. Jonathan Watson.

Only An Excuse?

BBC One Scotland sketch show starring Jonathan Watson. 27 episodes, 1993 - 2021. Stars Jonathan Watson, Gerry McLaughlin, Julie Austin, Chris Forbes and Sheila Donald.

Episode One

A selection of sketches picked from 27 years of the hit Scottish comedy, mixing classic characters, favourite skits and hilarious media spoofs. Frankie Boy rocks up at the petrol station, King Kenny dispenses managerial advice on the golf course and Sir Fergie lectures on leadership at Harvard.

Broadcast details

Thursday 11th February 2021
BBC Scotland
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jonathan Watson Various
Gerry McLaughlin Ensemble Actor
Chris Forbes Ensemble Actor
Guest cast
Kirsty Wark Self
Joy McAvoy Ensemble Actor
Mark Cox Ensemble Actor
Fiona Henderson Ensemble Actor
Gordon Kennedy Ensemble Actor
Alistair McGowan Ensemble Actor
Susan Nisbet Ensemble Actor
Tony Roper Ensemble Actor
Grant Smeaton Ensemble Actor
Tom Urie Ensemble Actor
Fiona Wood Ensemble Actor
Writing team
John McGlade Writer
Stephen McLaughlin Writer
Chuck Gayfield Writer
Wes Fargo Writer
Rikki Brown Writer
Duncan Black Writer
Kevin Carlin Writer
Ginger Kidd Writer
Production team
Iain Davidson Director
Ron Bain Director
Philip Differ Producer
Ewan Angus Executive Producer
Rab Christie Executive Producer
Gavin Smith Executive Producer
Colin Gilbert Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 2 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer, composer, 1st assistant director, make-up designer, costume designer, director of photography & editor credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?