Only An Excuse?. Jonathan Watson
Only An Excuse?

Only An Excuse?

  • TV sketch show
  • BBC One Scotland
  • 1993 - 2021
  • 32 episodes

Famous Scottish football satire show. Every Hogmanay, Jonathan Watson mimics Scotland's top personalities and the heroes and villains of football. Also features Gerry McLaughlin, Julie Austin, Chris Forbes and Sheila Donald.

Episode menu

Episode Three

Sir Fergie loses his cool with his goalie, Jim Spencey Spence quizzes a Scottish Olympic Champion, and The Frankie Boy props up the bar to share memories that are so good he can barely remember them. Meanwhile, a top TV dating show comes to Glasgow to see if opposites really do attract.

Broadcast details

Thursday 25th February 2021
BBC Scotland
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Friday 26th February 2021 11:30pm BBC Scotland
Thursday 8th July 2021 10:30pm BBC Scotland
Friday 9th July 2021 11:30pm BBC Scotland
Friday 29th October 2021 11:30pm BBC Scotland
Friday 10th December 2021 10:30pm BBC Scotland
Friday 20th May 2022 11:10pm BBC Scotland
Friday 9th December 2022 11:00pm BBC Scotland
Friday 30th June 2023 11:00pm BBC Scotland

Cast & crew

Jonathan Watson Various
Gerry McLaughlin Ensemble Actor
Julie Austin Ensemble Actor
Chris Forbes Ensemble Actor
Guest cast
Christopher Hoy (as Sir Chris Hoy) Self
Ryan Fletcher Ensemble Actor
Louise McCarthy Ensemble Actor
Clare Waugh Ensemble Actor
James Young Ensemble Actor
Joy McAvoy Ensemble Actor
Mark Cox Ensemble Actor
Alistair McGowan Ensemble Actor
Grant Smeaton Ensemble Actor
Tom Urie Ensemble Actor
Sally Reid Ensemble Actor
Geoff Boyz Ensemble Actor
Paul-James Corrigan (as Paul James Corrigan) Ensemble Actor
Matt Costello Ensemble Actor
Laurie Ventry Ensemble Actor
Writing team
Steven Dick Writer
John McGlade Writer
Stephen McLaughlin Writer
Gregor Paton Writer
Chuck Gayfield Writer
Wes Fargo Writer
Alice Gregg Writer
Iain Davidson (as Noddy Davidson) Writer
Rikki Brown Writer
Stuart Hay Writer
Iain McDonald Writer
Greg Hemphill Writer
Ted Mitchell Writer
Production team
Iain Davidson Director
Ron Bain Director
Philip Differ Producer
Ewan Angus Executive Producer
Rab Christie Executive Producer
Gavin Smith Executive Producer
Colin Gilbert Executive Producer
Gordon Miller Editor
Lee McKellar Editor
Laura Donnelly Production Designer
Iain McDonald Production Designer
Annette Gillies Production Designer
Graham Rose Production Designer
Denise Coombes Costume Designer
Paul Farrow Costume Designer
Carole K. Fraser Costume Designer
Katherine Hyland Costume Designer
Yvonne Simpson Costume Designer
Brian Jobson Director of Photography
John I. McNeill (as John I McNeill) Director of Photography
Des O'Hare Director of Photography
Amy Buchanan Make-up Designer
Julie Dorrat-Keenan Make-up Designer
Kirstin Innes Make-up Designer
Jacqui Mallett Make-up Designer
Heather Millington Make-up Designer
Sam Print Make-up Designer
Mark Ash 1st Assistant Director
Wendy Ashman 1st Assistant Director
Amanda Black 1st Assistant Director
David Boyd 1st Assistant Director
Susan Clark 1st Assistant Director
Helen Doherty 1st Assistant Director
Tim Franklin 1st Assistant Director
Carol-Anne Henderson (as Carol Anne Henderson) 1st Assistant Director
Brian Horsburgh 1st Assistant Director
Morris Milne 1st Assistant Director
Ted Mitchell 1st Assistant Director
Fay Selby 1st Assistant Director
Chantelle Stoffel 1st Assistant Director
Kath Wishart 1st Assistant Director

Share this page