Broadcasting Press Guild Awards nominations 2022

Thursday 24th February 2022, 9:22am

Alma's Not Normal. Image shows from L to R: Lin (Siobhan Finneran), Alma Nuthall (Sophie Willan), Joan (Lorraine Ashbourne), Jim (Nicholas Asbury)

The nominations for the Broadcasting Press Guild Awards 2022 have been announced.

The BPG Television, Streaming and Audio Awards - for work commissioned or premiered in the UK and screened in 2021 - are prized by programme-makers because they are chosen independently by TV and radio correspondents, critics and previewers.

The nominations for Best Comedy are:

Best Comedy

Alma's Not Normal. Alma Nuthall (Sophie Willan)

Alma's Not Normal

Sex Education. Image shows from L to R: Eric Effiong (Ncuti Gatwa), Maeve Wiley (Emma Mackey), Otis Milburn (Asa Butterfield). Copyright: Eleven Film

Sex Education

Stath Lets Flats. Stath (Jamie Demetriou). Copyright: Roughcut Television

Stath Lets Flats

Starstruck. Image shows from L to R: Tom (Nikesh Patel), Jessie (Rose Matafeo). Copyright: Avalon Television


Elsewhere in the awards, Mel Giedroyc: Unforgivable and Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing are nominated alongside Michael McIntyre's The Wheel, Strictly Come Dancing and The Masked Singer in the Best Entertainment category.

Dark comedy drama Guilt is up for Best Drama, whilst creator Neil Forsyth is shortlisted for the Best Writer prize.

Landscapers is also nominated in the Best Drama category, with its star, Olivia Colman, in the Best Actress shortlist.

The BPG Emerging Creators Award features YouTube stars Chunkz and Michael Dappah, comedy video creator Rosie Holt, plus trainspotting TikTok user Francis Bourgeois and blind presenter Lucy Edwards.

Meanwhile the BPG Breakthrough Award features Starstruck creator and star Rose Matafeo, We Are Lady Parts creator Nida Manzoor and the 'Pink Palace' cast members of It's A Sin.

The 48th annual BPG Awards ceremony, which is sponsored by YouTube, will take place at lunchtime on Friday March 25th 2022 at The Brewery in the City of London. A full list of nominations across all categories can be viewed at

Share this page