Love Thy Neighbour. Image shows from L to R: Eddie Booth (Jack Smethurst), Bill Reynolds (Rudolph Walker). Copyright: Thames Television
Love Thy Neighbour

Love Thy Neighbour

  • TV sitcom
  • ITV1
  • 1972 - 1976
  • 54 episodes (8 series)

Pro-white socialist Eddie Booth is disgusted when a black couple move in next door - but far worse than his skin colour, Bill Reynolds is Conservative. Stars Jack Smethurst, Rudolph Walker, Nina Baden-Semper, Kate Williams, Tommy Godfrey and more.

Episode menu

Series 7, Episode 3

Eddie's staunch socialist, trade unionism brings relations to a head. He's outraged that Bill should want to do an honest day's work; for Bill his attitude is the last straw, and he vows never to return to the club.


This episode is sometimes known as Protection Of The Law.

Broadcast details

Thursday 1st May 1975
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Jack Smethurst Eddie Booth
Rudolph Walker Bill Reynolds
Nina Baden-Semper Barbie Reynolds
Kate Williams Joan Booth
Tommy Godfrey Arthur
Keith Marsh Jacko
Paul Luty Nobby Garside
Guest cast
Robin Parkinson Mr. Simpson (Race Relations Officer)
Frank Singuineau President of Club
Loftus Burton Doorman
Writing team
Jon Watkins Writer
Production team
William G Stewart Director
William G Stewart Producer
Frank Gillman Production Designer

Share this page