Hypothetical. Image shows from L to R: James Acaster, Josh Widdicombe. Copyright: Hat Trick Productions


  • TV panel show
  • Dave
  • 2019 - 2022
  • 32 episodes (4 series)

Josh Widdicombe and James Acaster host a panel show testing two teams of comedians on their ability to deal with a series of ridiculous scenarios.

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 1

Hypothetical. Image shows from L to R: Jonathan Ross, James Acaster, Maisie Adam, Sara Barron, Rob Beckett, Josh Widdicombe. Copyright: Hat Trick Productions
Josh Widdicombe and James Acaster will be posing ridiculous hypothetical scenarios to Rob Beckett, Sara Barron, Maisie Adam, and Jonathan Ross.

Preview clips

Broadcast details

Wednesday 5th February 2020
60 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Saturday 8th February 2020 10:00pm Dave
Tuesday 11th February 2020 11:00pm Dave
Tuesday 14th April 2020 2:50am Dave
Monday 20th April 2020 10:00pm Dave
Tuesday 21st April 2020 3:00am Dave
Wednesday 9th September 2020 10:00pm Dave
Monday 9th November 2020 10:00pm Dave
Wednesday 9th June 2021 2:10am Dave
Friday 11th March 2022 12:00am Dave

Cast & crew

Josh Widdicombe Host / Presenter
James Acaster Host / Presenter
Guest cast
Rob Beckett Guest
Sara Barron Guest
Maisie Adam Guest
Jonathan Ross Guest
Vanessa Feltz Self
Mark Berry (as Bez) Self
Anthea Turner Self
Writing team
Tom Craine Writer
Matthew Crosby Writer
Henry Paker Writer
Ben Clark Writer (Additional Material)
Catherine Brinkworth Writer (Additional Material)
Sarah Campbell Writer (Additional Material)
Zoƫ Tomalin Script Editor
Production team
John L Spencer Director
Danny Carr Series Producer
Sophie Le Good Producer
Joe McVey Executive Producer
Stu Mather Executive Producer
Josh Widdicombe Executive Producer
Pascal Emmenegger Editor
Ben Telford Production Designer
Dominic Tolfts Production Designer
Chris Kempton Lighting Designer
Sanjiv Sen Composer
Dave Whyte Graphics
Jake Dale Graphics


Jonathan Ross is death

Jonathan Ross is posed the hypothetical situation of 'how much to dress as the grim reaper for a year?'

Featuring: Josh Widdicombe, James Acaster & Jonathan Ross.

Share this page