After Henry. Image shows from L to R: Clare France (Janine Wood), Russell Bryant (Jonathan Newth), Eleanor Prescott (Joan Sanderson), Sarah France (Prunella Scales). Copyright: Thames Television.

After Henry

ITV sitcom about three women. 38 episodes (4 series), 1988 - 1992. Stars Prunella Scales, Joan Sanderson, Janine Wood, Jonathan Newth and others.

Series 2

Christmas Special: A Quiet Christmas

First broadcast: Monday 26th December 1988

Sarah plans a traditional Christmas but finds that Russell isn't interested at all. And Eleanor has her own slightly outdated take on 'traditional'!


1. Intellectual Aspirations

First broadcast: Tuesday 10th January 1989

Clare gets into an intellectual challenge with her new boyfriend whom she believes to be terribly brainy. Eleanor decides it's a contest she can't be left out of.


2. Open Secrets

First broadcast: Tuesday 17th January 1989

When Sarah is invited out for lunch by a man, she has to make contingency plans to prevent her mother's 'Geriatric Mafia' finding out about it.


3. Memory Games

First broadcast: Tuesday 24th January 1989

It's quiz night and Clare and Eleanor are in opposing teams, while Sarah seems to be having problems with the accuracy of her memory.


4. The Cold

First broadcast: Tuesday 31st January 1989

Sarah feels lousy, but in her family she's last on the list of casualties allowed to be treated if other people feel ill as well.


5. Wedding Bells

First broadcast: Tuesday 7th February 1989

Eleanor wants to have a family wedding because she has heard that Vera Polling is having one, and that, of course, puts the pressure on Sarah and Clare.


6. Lines Of Communication

First broadcast: Tuesday 28th February 1989

Sarah and Eleanor have fallen out and there seems little chance of a reconciliation. But Clare decides to use one of her old school games to alleviate the problem.


7. Gossip

First broadcast: Tuesday 7th March 1989

Sarah is accused of scandal-mongering after inadvertently starting a rumour about the pension counter's sister.


8. Out On A Limb

First broadcast: Tuesday 14th March 1989

With Eleanor off to the Bridge Club dinner and dance with Vera Polling, Sarah decides to invite Dr Sam Greenland over for a quiet dinner. But the best laid plans...


9. Upstagers

First broadcast: Tuesday 21st March 1989

Sarah, Eleanor and Clare are enlisted by the local amateur dramatic society when it suddenly loses its leading players.


10. Idle Speculation

First broadcast: Tuesday 28th March 1989

It's a fight to the finish when Sarah, who wants the hall redecorated in time for her birthday party, and Eleanor, who wants a new dress for the occasion, battle it out when there is only enough money for one or the other.


11. Efficiency

First broadcast: Tuesday 4th April 1989

Eleanor is left in charge of the bookshop when Russell and Sarah go off for a special lunch. She initiates an efficiency drive, which goes badly wrong.


12. Going Away

First broadcast: Tuesday 11th April 1989

Sarah makes plans to escape to Portugal for two weeks with her glamorous friend, Alison. But Eleanor brings all her emotional blackmailing skills to the fore to scupper the plans.


Series 2 Products