After Henry. Image shows from L to R: Clare France (Janine Wood), Russell Bryant (Jonathan Newth), Eleanor Prescott (Joan Sanderson), Sarah France (Prunella Scales). Copyright: Thames Television.

After Henry

ITV sitcom about three women. 38 episodes (4 series), 1988 - 1992. Stars Prunella Scales, Joan Sanderson, Janine Wood, Jonathan Newth and others.

Series 1

1. The Older Man

First broadcast: Monday 4th January 1988

Sarah hears that Clare is secretly meeting an 'older man'.


2. Phone Calls

First broadcast: Monday 11th January 1988

Sarah hatches a plan to stop her mother from intruding into her part of the house, but she reckons without Eleanor's deviousness.


3. The Teapot

First broadcast: Monday 18th January 1988

Eleanor sees a way of playing her daughter off against her granddaughter when she starts drawing up the terms of her will.


4. Security

First broadcast: Monday 25th January 1988

Sarah decides to install a burglar alarm as a reaction to a lapse in security, but Eleanor, of course, has other ideas as to how their property should be defended.


5. Romantic Complications

First broadcast: Monday 1st February 1988

When both her mother and her daughter start confiding in her about their respective love lives, Sarah finds herself stuck in the middle...


6. The Birthday

First broadcast: Monday 8th February 1988

It's Eleanor's birthday and secret celebrations are planned, but how on earth are they going to keep it a secret from her?!


Series 1 Products