Recorded For Training Purposes. Copyright: BBC
Recorded For Training Purposes

Recorded For Training Purposes

  • Radio sketch show
  • BBC Radio 4
  • 2007 - 2010
  • 27 episodes (4 series)

A fast-paced sketch show about modern communication. Much of the material comes from new writers. Stars Ben Willbond, Ingrid Oliver, Dominic Coleman, Lewis Macleod, Julie Mayhew and more.

Episode menu

Series 3, Episode 4

Sketches include an airborne traffic reporter with issues; adverts for a sofa shop sale that must end soon... or at least one day; an awkward pie shop customer; and a lawyer reading out a less-than-eloquent statement from their celebrity client on the steps outside a court.

Further details

Apology (Bruce Shakespeare)
Condescending Review (Andrew Jones)
Eye In The Sky 1 (Mike Ryan)
Sofa Sale 1 (Matt Honeyball)
Police Interview Tape (Nick Wood)
Mobile Conversation (Tim Connery)
Eye In The Sky 2 (Mike Ryan)
Pie Shop Stats Man (James Sherwood)
Death's Door (Huw Davies)
Celebrity Statement (Frog Stone)
Art (Samuel Schafer)
The Spy Who Phoned Me (Kerris Kent)
Media Hysteria (Peter Brooksbank)
Don't Say Black (Madeleine Brettingham)
Eye In The Sky 3 (Mike Ryan)
Train Announcer's Hug (Christopher Nielan)
Sofa Sale 2 (Matt Honeyball)
Boris (Gavin Whenman)

Broadcast details

Thursday 29th January 2009
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Sunday 8th November 2015 11:30pm Radio 4 Extra
Thursday 16th November 2017 10:30pm Radio 4 Extra
Wednesday 13th November 2019 11:00pm Radio 4 Extra
Monday 16th August 2021 11:30pm Radio 4 Extra

Cast & crew

Ben Willbond Various
Ingrid Oliver Various
Dominic Coleman Various
Lewis Macleod Various
Julie Mayhew Various
Rachel Atkins Various
Writing team
Michael Ryan Writer
Peter Brooksbank Writer
Madeleine Brettingham Writer
Matt Honeyball Writer
Frog Stone Writer
James Sherwood Writer
James Cary Script Editor
Jason Hazeley Script Editor
Joel Morris Script Editor
Bruce Shakespeare Writer
Andrew Jones Writer
Nick Wood Writer
Tim Connery Writer
Huw Davies Writer
Samuel Schafer Writer
Kerris Kent Writer
Christopher Nielan Writer
Gavin Whenman Writer
Production team
Ed Morrish Producer

Share this page