Writers' Guild Awards 2020 shortlist

Wednesday 4th December 2019, 9:45am

Writers' Guild of Great Britain.

The Writers' Guild of Great Britain (WGGB) has revealed the shortlists for its 2020 awards.

The comedy-related nominations are:

Best TV Situation Comedy

Brassic. Image shows from L to R: Vinnie (Joe Gilgun), Erin (Michelle Keegan), Dylan (Damien Molony). Copyright: Calamity Films.

Danny Brocklehurst for Brassic

Derry Girls. Image shows from L to R: Michelle Mallon (Jamie-Lee O'Donnell), James Maguire (Dylan Llewellyn), Erin Quinn (Saoirse-Monica Jackson), Orla McCool (Louisa Harland), Clare Devlin (Nicola Coughlan). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.

Lisa McGee for Derry Girls

Home. Peter (Rufus Jones).

Rufus Jones for Home

Best Radio Comedy

Tom Neenan.

Tom Neenan for The Hauntening

The Mayoress. Susan (Brenda Gilhooly).

Brenda Gilhooly for Madam Mayor

Prepper. Image shows from L to R: Rachel (Pearl Mackie), Sylvia (Sue Johnston). Copyright: Giddy Goat Productions.

Caroline Moran and James J Moran for Prepper

Best Online Comedy

Graham Dickson and Liz Kingsman for Down From London:

Ben Rufus Green for Paper Trail:

Hannah George and Tasha Dhanraj for Side Effects of the Pill:

Watch on Facebook

Elsewhere in the nominations:

Danger Mouse. Copyright: FremantleMedia.

Ciaran Murtagh and Andrew Barnett Jones are nominated in the Best Children's TV Episode category for the Melted episode of Danger Mouse

Stan & Ollie. Image shows from L to R: Stan Laurel (Steve Coogan), Oliver Hardy (John C. Reilly).

Jeff Pope is nominated for Best Screenplay for his Stan & Ollie script.

There She Goes. Emily (Jessica Hynes). Copyright: Merman.

Jessica Hynes appears in the Best First Screenplay list, for The Fight.

The full list of nominations for all 15 categories can be seen on writersguild.org.uk

WGGB President Sandi Toksvig says: "In such tumultuous times, when truth becomes ever stranger than fiction, we rely on writers to reflect, to inform, to distract, to entertain and to make meaning of it all. And what a lot of talent in this year's Writers' Guild Awards shortlist - from page, stage, screen and across the airwaves."

The results will be announced at a ceremony hosted by Katy Brand at the Royal College of Physicians in central London on Monday 13th January 2020.

Related Guides

Latest news