The all-in-one consolidatory football thread Page 369

Quote: Alfred J Kipper @ May 25 2012, 1:00 PM BST

Lovely touchy tappy passing by teams like Arselona and Barsenal may have become the vogue in top football and loved by the Platinis and Blatters who run the game

Not just the Platinis and Blatters by everyone the world over. Don't get me wrong, there are aspects of the modern game that I find upsetting, particularly players urging the Ref to show a card and the play acting when tackled.

On the other hand, if I was a manager and I'd just blown £15 million on a star striker and during his first match, some dozy donkey from Stoke immediately broke his leg in a vicious and cynical tackle, then I'd be livid. Maybe that's why the game has gone this way.

For a lot of clubs, protecting their players is paramount and dropping out of the Premiership equates to immediate financial woe. 20 years ago, no one cared if Charlie Chipshop was stretchered off the pitch with three broken legs, but the pressure on clubs these days dictates looking after your investments.

Quote: Renegade Carpark @ May 25 2012, 11:20 AM BST

As we've lost so many players over the last few of seasons due to broken legs - with Sagna being the latest casualty - you can stick your lower division, no skill, Sunday league, career ending, football up your bum.

It's only the wimpy Arse players who seem to suffer. Why is that?

Quote: Alfred J Kipper @ May 25 2012, 8:35 AM BST

Most beer drinkers. = Hundreds of millions.

Just cos millions drink it it doesn't mean it's good. Millions read the Mail and the Sun - me included.

Millions like Eastenders!

Quote: Alfred J Kipper @ May 25 2012, 8:35 AM BST