The Lady In The Van. Image shows from L to R: Miss Shepherd (Maggie Smith), Alan Bennett (Alex Jennings). Copyright: BBC Films
The Lady In The Van

The Lady In The Van

  • 2015 film

The Lady In The Van is a drama based on real events, about a vagrant who the playwright Alan Bennett allowed to park her van in his driveway, where she lived for fifteen years. Also features Maggie Smith, Alex Jennings, Jim Broadbent, Frances de la Tour, Roger Allam and more.

Cast & crew credits

Maggie Smith Miss Shepherd
Alex Jennings Alan Bennett
Jim Broadbent Underwood
Frances de la Tour Mrs Vaughan Williams
Roger Allam Rufus
Deborah Findlay Pauline
Gwen Taylor Mam
Pandora Colin Fiona Perry
Nicholas Burns Giles Perry
David Calder Leo Fairchild
Marion Bailey Housekeeper at Convent
Cecilia Noble Miss Briscoe, Social Worker
Claire Foy Lois, Social Worker
Clare Hammond Young Margaret Fairchild
Jamie Parker Estate Agent
Richard Griffiths Sam Perry
Dominic Cooper Actor
Giles Cooper Passer By
Tom Klenerman Tom Perry
James Corden Market Trader
George Taylor Policeman
Eleanor Matsuura Interviewer
Selina Cadell Lady Wiggin
Charlie Hancock Man Shaking Van
Dan Raza Man Shaking Van
Dermot Crowley Priest
Clive Merrison Man in Confessional
Samuel Barnett Out of Work Actor
Russell Tovey Young Man with Earring
Samuel Anderson Jehovah's Witness
Michelle Reid Jehovah's Witness
Sam Spruell Another Young Man
Rosalind Knight Old Nun
Elliot Levey Theatre Director
Sarah Lieberson Stage Manager
Hannah Watson Broadstairs Pianist
Linda Broughton Edith Fairchild
Stephen Campbell Moore Doctor at Old Peoples Home
Sacha Dhawan Doctor at Gloucester Crescent
Andrew Knott Ambulance Man
Lorna Brown Day Care Centre Worker
June Watson Woman in Day Centre
Sam McCardle Biker
Tony Van Silva God
Geoffrey Streatfeild (as Geoffrey Streatfield) Alan's Partner
Alan Bennett Self
Writing team
Alan Bennett Writer
Production team
Nicholas Hytner Director
Nicholas Hytner Producer
Damian Jones Producer
Kevin Loader Producer
Miles Ketley Executive Producer
Charles Moore Executive Producer
Christine Langan Executive Producer
Ed Wethered Executive Producer
Tariq Anwar Editor
John Beard Production Designer
Toby Whale Casting Director
Andrew Dunn Director of Photography
Natalie Ward Costume Designer
Naomi Donne Make-up Designer
George Fenton Composer
Nige Watson 1st Assistant Director

Share this page