Yes, Prime Minister. Image shows from L to R: Sir Humphrey Appleby (Henry Goodman), Jim Hacker (David Haig). Copyright: BBC
Yes, Prime Minister

Yes, Prime Minister (2013)

  • TV sitcom
  • Gold
  • 2013
  • 6 episodes (1 series)

Political sitcom series based on the original hit 1980s satire. Stars David Haig and Henry Goodman. Also features Chris Larkin and Zoe Telford.

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 2 - The Poisoned Chalice

Jim holds a dinner to welcome the Kumranistan Foreign Secretary.

Further details

Yes, Prime Minister. Image shows from L to R: Claire Sutton (Zoe Telford), Jim Hacker (David Haig). Copyright: BBC

After exposing Humphrey's scheme to get Britain into the Euro, Jim holds a dinner at Chequers to welcome the Kumranistan Foreign Secretary and pave the way for the massive loan that will save Europe.

Meanwhile the BBC are planning a major TV programme on the Government's crisis. When the BBC Director General arrives, Jim uses the threat of BBC reform to get himself a chance to appear live at the end of the programme.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 22nd January 2013
40 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 23rd January 2013 1:00am Gold
Friday 25th January 2013 10:20pm Gold
Monday 28th January 2013 10:20pm Gold
Saturday 23rd February 2013 8:40pm Gold
Monday 25th February 2013 11:40pm Gold
Tuesday 26th February 2013 8:20pm Gold
Thursday 31st October 2013 8:20pm Gold
Thursday 7th November 2013 12:00am Gold
Wednesday 3rd September 2014 3:20am Gold
Friday 26th September 2014 3:20am Gold
Tuesday 7th October 2014 3:15am Gold
Thursday 30th November 2017 7:15am Gold
Friday 30th November 2018 3:10am Gold
Wednesday 2nd January 2019 7:25am Gold

Cast & crew

David Haig Jim Hacker
Henry Goodman Sir Humphrey Appleby
Chris Larkin Bernard Woolley
Zoe Telford Claire Sutton
Guest cast
Pip Torrens Jeremy Burnham (BBC Director-General)
Sevan Stephan Mr Aitikeev (Kumranistan Foreign Secretary)
Sam Dastor Kumranistan Ambassador
Sara Carver Robin Simpson (BBC Journalist)
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Jonathan Lynn Director
Gareth Gwenlan Director
Jonathan Lynn Producer
Gareth Gwenlan Producer
Anne Gilchrist Executive Producer
Antony Jay Executive Producer
Chris Wadsworth Editor
David Hitchcock Production Designer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer

Share this page