The Young Offenders. Image shows from L to R: Conor MacSweeney (Alex Murphy), Jock O'Keeffe (Chris Walley)
The Young Offenders

The Young Offenders

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC Three / BBC One
  • 2018 - 2020
  • 19 episodes (3 series)

Comedy series about two inner-city teenagers, based on the 2016 Irish film of the same name. Stars Chris Walley, Alex Murphy, Hilary Rose, Jennifer Barry, Demi Isaac Oviawe and more.

Episode menu

Series 3, Episode 5

The Young Offenders. Image shows from L to R: Mairead MacSweeney (Hilary Rose), Jock O'Keeffe (Chris Walley), Conor MacSweeney (Alex Murphy)
Conor and Jock stop some local tearaways from destroying their estate, but the encounter leads to an argument and Jock is challenged to a boxing match. They soon discover the tearaway is a champion boxer, meaning Jock has to train in order to prepare for the match.

Preview clips

Broadcast details

Sunday 19th July 2020
BBC Three
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Friday 21st August 2020 9:30pm BBC1
Friday 21st August 2020 10:45pm BBC1 Wales
Tuesday 13th June 2023 11:00pm BBC3
Wednesday 14th June 2023 1:35am BBC3

Cast & crew

Chris Walley Jock O'Keeffe
Alex Murphy Conor MacSweeney
Hilary Rose Mairead MacSweeney
Jennifer Barry Siobhan Walsh
Demi Isaac Oviawe Linda Walsh
PJ Gallagher Principal Barry Walsh
Orla Fitzgerald Orla Walsh
Dominic MacHale Sergeant Healy
Shane Casey Billy Murphy
Guest cast
John Murphy Guard
Daniel Power Gavin Madigan
Rachel O'Connell Nancy Madigan
CiarĂ¡n Bermingham Superintendent Flynn
Thomas McCarthy JP
Claudia Rose Long Niamh
Adrian Scanlan Derek Doherty
Cian Hurley Bobby Gilligan
Eoghan Moloney Compere
Penny Richardson Star
Nola Richardson Star
Writing team
Ross Browne Writer (Additional Material)
Jocelyn Clarke Executive Story Editor
David Ireland Writer
Peter Foott Story
Production team
Simon Delaney Director
Tim Whitby Producer
Peter Foott Executive Producer
Lotte Beasley Executive Producer
Abby Singer Executive Producer
Justin Healy Executive Producer
Shane Murphy Executive Producer
Martina Niland Executive Producer
Alex Moody Executive Producer
Ailish Bracken Line Producer
Cormac Fox Associate Producer
Michael Doherty Associate Producer
Hugh Chaloner Editor
Owen Power Production Designer
Mike Foott Casting Director
Lara Campbell Costume Designer
Rory O'Riordan Director of Photography
Ray Harman Composer
Anna Harrison 1st Assistant Director


Classic boxing training montage

Featuring: Chris Walley (Jock O'Keeffe), Alex Murphy (Conor MacSweeney) & Hilary Rose (Mairead MacSweeney).

Share this page